A-Z Databases

Contains over 3,500 essays and images on blues, jazz, spirituals, gospel, ragtime, civil rights songs, rhythm and blues, hip hop and rap and other forms of African American musical expression.

Essential for understanding Black history and culture, African Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.

The All of Us database provides clinical, environmental, and social lifestyle data to inform how these factors affect health conditions, to promote the advancement of biomedical research such as precision medicine. The "Data Browser" public data is aggregated data from participants’ physical measurements, surveys, wearables, and electronic health records. In the "Researcher Workbench" Registered Tier, UNCW researchers can view and analyze within the Workbench platform individual (not aggregated) human subjects' de-identified biomedical data. Training (1 hour) within the platform is required for registration, and will be required to be retaken (1 hour) annually to maintain access. There is no need to complete the additional "Controlled Tier" training, as we do not have access to this set of data. Find more information.

The Black Studies platform allows users to simultaneously search the databases African Diaspora, 1860-Present, Black Studies in Video, and Black Thought and Culture. These databases include full-text, audio and video, across a range of History, Literature, and Performing Arts content.

Bloomsbury Video Library, formerly known as ArtFilms, features content from filmed performances and fiction films to documentaries and instructional video. It offers more than 2,000 films from top artists and independent filmmakers and contains an international range of content across the visual and performing arts, film, history, and more. The collection features exclusive indie films and shorts, avant-garde performances, interviews with renowned writers, artists, choreographers, performers and practitioners, documentaries on an international range of themes, traditions, and historical figures. Content originates from Australia, the UK, the USA, Germany, Denmark, France, Hungary, Canada, Switzerland, Pakistan, Indonesia, Africa, and Japan and covers such subject areas as Visual & Applied Arts, Film Studies, Media Studies, Music & Dance, History, and Philosophy. 

CINAHL Ultimate indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association and includes nearly 1,500 active full text peer-reviewed journals. The database covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.

Clinical Nursing Skills in Video is a new and growing collection of regularly updated demonstration and training videos to help students improve their clinical skills. This ongoing resource will grow over the coming years and allows anytime, anywhere access to the latest resources available for nurse training. The skills demonstrated in this collection were selected and reviewed by an advisory board of licensed nurses, nursing educators, researchers, and librarians to ensure students are accessing videos displaying current best practice and meet current standards of clinical judgement and videos are peer-reviewed and accredited by the ANCC (American Nurses Credentialing Center).

Apply natural language processing tools to raw text data (OCR) from Gale Primary Sources in a single research platform. By integrating an unmatched depth and breadth of digital primary source matter with the most popular Digital Humanities (DH) tools, Gale Digital Scholar Lab provides a new lens to explore history and empowers researchers to generate world-altering conclusions and outcomes. The Digital Scholar Lab offers advanced humanities computing tools that make natural language processing (NLP) for historical texts accessible, more efficient, and impactful, thus expanding the footprint of digital humanities across campus.

ImportGenius provides complete real-time shipment records for all imports and exports of the United States, Russia, India and 15 other countries. ImportGenius users can view the importer, overseas factory, product, date of arrival, port of entry, and other essential details for every shipment.

InCites Benchmarking & Analytics is a flexible research evaluation tool that helps you easily analyze trusted data to make confident decisions about your research programs. It can be used to inform strategic planning, provide benchmarks for comparison with peer institutions, demonstrate funding outcomes, and optimize collaborations for different disciplines and regions.

The Index of Medieval Art is a unique repository that is of considerable value to students of art history and related disciplines. The largest and most important archive of medieval art in the world, the Index offers unrivalled iconographic documentation, in both text and image, of art from the Early Christian period to the middle of the 16th century. There is a particular emphasis on art of the Western world, but this has been augmented in recent years by the addition of significant documentation of art from Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East.

Indigenous Peoples of North America is sourced from both American and Canadian institutions, as well as direct-from-source from newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations. The collection also features Indigenous language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers.

Topics of interest include trade and communication, Arctic exploration and tribes, the Iroquois Confederation, Canadian Catholic Indian missions, Indian removal, Indian wars and the frontier army, establishment of the Canadian Indian and Aboriginal Department, Indian delegations and Indian-federal relations, Canadian Indian treaty policy, government boarding and missionary schools and curricula, Dawes Severalty and the allotment system, dances and festivals, Alaskan Indian policies, Indian languages and linguistics, assimilation and the Indian New Deal, relocation, termination, and the Indian Claims Commission, water and fishing rights, civil rights, radicalism, poverty, and the American Indian movement.

HeinOnline's Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law was created from a desire to consolidate the wealth of material available on indigenous American life and law, and to share the tremendous influence that these peoples and their cultures have had on the development of the United States. With more than 4,000 titles and 2.3 million total pages, this library includes an expansive archive of historical materials.

This collection brings together 105,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, semantically Indexed and online for the first time. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

Music Online: Classical Scores Library is a reliable and authoritative destination for in-copyright digital scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of diverse and lesser-known contemporary works. The collection encompasses all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century and includes full, study, piano, and vocal scores.

Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. Scholars and students will be able to browse and search hundreds of articles about the music of every continent. Besides appealing to ethnomusicologists, the accessible writing style will appeal to a much broader audience—with rich content that brings a new dimension to the study of history, sociology, diversity, cultural anthropology, and other disciplines.

Music Online: The Qwest TV Collection preserves diverse live performances, covering the evolution of jazz and beyond — representing funk, soul, hip-hop, folk, indie, electronic, blues, and other eclectic world genres. Co-created by Quincy Jones & Reza Ackbaraly, this unique collection of highly curated 150 titles makes timeless concerts and global music accessible for research, teaching and learning.

For over 100 years, Oxford World's Classics has made available the broadest spectrum of literature from around the globe. Each volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, voluminous notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, maps, illustrations and much more. A continuous program of new titles and revised editions ensures that the series retains its breadth and reflects the latest scholarship. Comprehensive introductions, clear explanatory notes, chronologies, and bibliographies support the classic texts.

eStatement Studies combines data from the Annual Statement Studies: Financial Ratio Benchmarks book with data on Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures, in addition to enabling users to break out regional data.

Teletherapy Skills in Video provides current best practices of conducting teletherapy, designed to help students better recognize mental health disorders and provide accurate diagnoses via mental health videos aligned to DSM‐5‐TR/ICD 10 content. The videos feature clients who span various mental health conditions and cultural backgrounds to maximize their applicability for practice with an increasingly diverse clientele. Learn how to conduct teletherapy responsibly, mitigate potential ethical concerns, and attune to each client’s unique circumstances in this video collection.

Founded in 2015, Grasshopper Film is dedicated to the release of acclaimed and award-winning independent cinema. With a library of over 450 titles, featuring Academy Award winners and nominees, prize-winners from major film festivals, and work from leading US and international directors, the company has been hailed as an “estimable new label” by The New York Times, “a gateway to some superb cinema” by the Los Angeles Times, and “one of the most artistically daring of distributors” by The New Yorker.

Discover archival materials, books, and media about history, culture, and government in Southeast North Carolina, along with other subjects in regional studies. The Center also contains the archives of the University of North Carolina Wilmington.

The UNCW Institutional Repository is a digital archive dedicated to preserving and showcasing the scholarly and creative works of the University. This repository provides open access to research papers, theses, dissertations, and other academic outputs, ensuring that the contributions of our academic community are accessible to a global audience. Any member of the UNCW community is welcome to deposit their work.

The library's digital collections offer digitized artifacts, art, diaries, letters, newspapers, photographs, oral histories, publications, and reports. These collections focus on the history of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as the history of Southeast North Carolina and the Lower Cape Fear Region.

Powered by Archive-It and the Internet Archive, this searchable archive includes captured websites relating to Southeast North Carolina and the University of North Carolina Wilmington. Highlights are university publications, regional and community groups, library digital exhibits, and UNCW's evolving web presence.