Education - Science

#GoOpenNC is a library of open education resources and network of NC educators.

Site providing information on basic biology. Covers cell structure, cell function, scientific studies, plants, vertebrates, invertebrates, and other life science topics.

Nonprofit education organization that uses space-themed simulated learning and role-playing strategies to help grades 5-9 students bring their classroom studies to life and cultivate skills needed for future success, such as problem solving, critical thinking, communication, and teamwork.

Site providing information on basic chemistry. Covers topics such as matter, atoms, the periodic table, elements, reactions, and biochemistry.

Journal highlighting STEM education and features articles about highly effective programs; the journal is also useful to policy makers, corporations, foundations, and others seeking to identify, advance, and invest in STEM education.

Discover STEM resources from eastern North Carolina Museums and Science Centers. Search across regional museums and science centers for collections, exhibits and online resources.

The Global Learning and Observations to Benefit the Environment (GLOBE) Program is an international science and education program that provides primary and secondary school students and the public worldwide with the opportunity to participate in data collection and the scientific process, and contribute meaningfully to our understanding of the Earth system and global environment.

Resource for high school math and science lesson videos. Videos also include a teacher's guide, downloadable hand-outs, and more.

Resource provides educational resources organized by subject, grade level, type, and keyword. The lesson plans and teaching materials primarily support STEM curriculum.

The National Geographic Education site provides resources for educators and students. The site offers news updates, audio/visual content, lesson plans, and much more.

Resource provides provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings.

Welcome to Classroom Resources--a diverse collection of lessons and web resources for classroom teachers, their students and students' families. Materials are arranged by subject area to help you quickly find resources in your interest area, and then use them to create lesson plans or at-home activities.

The National Science Teachers Association is an organization for science teachers from kindergarten through college. Their website provides educational resources and lesson plans by topic, as well as links to publications.

Website providing resources for North Carolina science teachers. The site also contains information about events, awards, and grants as well as links to issues of "The Reflector," NCSTA's quarterly newsletter.

PhET provides free interactive math and science simulations that engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.

Physics4Kids is a site that contains basic physics information. They have information on motion, heat and thermodynamics, electricity & magnetism, light, and modern physics topics.

Reeko's Mad Scientist Lab was created to foster a love for science in kids. Reeko hopes parents will find this page interesting (the reading level is slightly above elementary in some cases). Hopefully they'll sit down with their kids and attempt some of these experiments. Reeko believes they will have read the science facts so they understand the underlying principles behind these experiments. Then when the little one begins peppering them with questions, they'll explain the how and why of these experiments to their kids.

Siyavula provides Mathematics and Science textbooks from grades 4-12.

The Star*s Family resources offer outstanding features such as a twenty-year tradition/experience in compilations, a resulting excellent exhaustivity of entries (including thousands of entries without WWW link), an homegeneous coverage of all practical data, a permanent updating and quality checking scheme (including authentication of data originators), the largest amount of URLs available in a set of astronomy resources, a unique astronomy-oriented dictionary of acronyms and abbreviations, and so on.

Science textbooks with online interactive activities.