Indigenous Resources

Diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and in a comprehensive databases. Find more information.

Features records on American Indians and the American West from the 19th and 20th Centuries. Part of the History Vault database.

Provides a cross-cultural database of information on all aspects of cultural and social life, organized into cultures and ethnic groups. HRAF is an internationally recognized organization in the field of cultural anthropology. Its mission is to provide information that facilitates the cross-cultural study of human behavior, society and culture. As a multicultural database, eHRAF appeals to many academic disciplines in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, parks and recreation, and any other area with an interest in cultural diversity. This multi-cultural database provides you with in-depth information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Each culture or ethnic group contains a variety of source documents (books, articles, and dissertations) that have been indexed and organized.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Gale OneFile: Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. Gender Studies includes topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.

A research tool that provides researchers with the opportunity to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims. It allows researchers to search Indian claims content by keyword, full text, docket number, and more. Content includes decisions, transcripts, docket books, journals of the Indian Claims Commission, a judicial panel for relations between the U.S. Government and Native American tribes; and related statutes and congressional publications.

HeinOnline's Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law was created from a desire to consolidate the wealth of material available on indigenous American life and law, and to share the tremendous influence that these peoples and their cultures have had on the development of the United States. With more than 4,000 titles and 2.3 million total pages, this library includes an expansive archive of historical materials.