Indigenous Resources

Scope and Content: This series includes research and notes associated with Cherokees and Christianity essays by William G. McLoughlin, edited by Walter Conser in 1994, Religious Diversity and American Religious History by Walter Conser and Sumner B. Twiss, as well as other works concerning similar subject matter. Includes German and English photocopied articles, books in whole or part; also included are correspondence between Dr. Walt Conser and various institutions concerning permission rights for publishing purposes and other professional matters. Of note are the papers, correspondence and other materials concerning William G. McLoughlin, an American historian. The original order is maintained.

This collection contains in depth information on the myths, legends, and customs of the North American Indian and other research material used by Hugh Zachary in his writings on Native Americans. Included is an unfinished manuscript and outline of "The Lost And The Fallen." Additional manuscripts added to this collection include The First Success Book, The Promises Of The Bible Applied To Network Marketing and an edited manuscript of Deep Freeze.

A Wilmington native, Alton Lennon practiced law in his hometown before serving briefly in the United States Senate from 1953-1954. He was elected to the United States House of Representatives in 1957, defending his seat seven more times before retiring in 1973. His collection reflects the era in which he served in Congress as well as the concerns of his constituents. These papers therefore reveal his segregationist beliefs, his concern for protecting the natural environment, and his desire to protect the interests of the thousands of tobacco farmers in the North Carolina 7th district.

To learn more about the paper collection, view the collection finding aid for the Alton A. Lennon Congressional Collection here. To access the collection onsite, contact Special Collections Librarian Rebecca Baugnon at baugnonr@uncw.edu.

This project was supported by grant funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) as administered by the State Library of North Carolina, a division of the NC Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (IMLS grant number LS-249980-OLS-21).

A native of Lumberton, Mike McIntyre earned his law degree at the University of North Carolina before entering private practice in his hometown in 1981. McIntyre succeeded in his first campaign for public office when in 1996 he defeated Bill Caster to succeed Charlie Rose to represent North Carolina’s 7th district. He left Congress in 2015 after declining to run for reelection in 2014. A so-called Blue Dog Democrat, he worked for the interests of his rural constituents as he secured the “tobacco buyout” to help them transition from tobacco farming. This collection reflects his efforts on their behalf, but also illustrates his work to protect the environment, encourage international trade, and support the armed forces.

To learn more about the paper collection, view the collection finding aid for the Mike McIntyre Congressional Collection here. To access the collection onsite, contact Special Collections Librarian Rebecca Baugnon at baugnonr@uncw.edu.

This project was supported by grant funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) as administered by the State Library of North Carolina, a division of the NC Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (IMLS grant number LS-249980-OLS-21).