This collection contains primarily personal papers related to the professional career of Thomas T. Hamilton. Included in the collection is Hamilton's curriculum vitae, newspaper articles, photographs, a letter, and a typed document titled, "Our Challenging Vision," justifying the need to establish Wilmington College. Inclusive dates range from 1948-1989. The photographs in the collection are of John C. Hamilton standing next to a portrait of his father in the Trustee room of Alderman Hall, 1989.
This collection includes working drafts and notes for Dr. J. Marshall Crews' book, From These Beginnings: Wilmington College, 1946-1969. This book chronicles the early development of Wilmington College, which later developed into the University of North Carolina Wilmington.
This manuscript collection contains information related to Dr. William Madison Randall's family and career from 1899 to 1972. Included are documents, correspondence, publications, newspaper articles and clippings, photographs and ephemera related to Randall's childhood, military career, career at UNCW, interest in languages and other scholarly pursuits. The collection also includes a tool belt and his graduation robes.
This collection contains years of written records, including minutes of Trustee meetings, personal and Executive Committee correspondence, news clippings, concerning Wilmington College, and the transition to University status. Mr. Graham held the important position of Chairman, Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees of Wilmington College.
This collection contains theatre professor Doug Swink's memorabilia from his tenure as a Wilmington College faculty member during the 1960s. Included in the collection are slides, performance programs and tickets, photographs, newspaper clippings, and student information bulletins encompassing many facets of student and faculty happenings, as well as theatre news, both on and off campus.
The Hawk's Eye was a regular feature article in the Star News written by Carleton Rhodes, a student at Wilmington College. The article was subtitled "News of Wilmington College," and chronicled all the important events and people associated with the college at that time.
Materials in this collection include Dr. Shinn's curriculum vitae and teaching philosphy, course syllabi, newspaper articles, photographs, various art prints and two framed images of Shinn. Also included is a vast slide collection related to archaeological digs in Israel and the middle east, european travel, art history, archaeological digs at Poplar Grove Plantation, North Carolina Living Treasures recipients and Schweitzer Prizes award ceremonies.
The collection consists of twenty scrapbook albums containing letters, documents, news articles, awards, photos, advertisements, and brochures spanning sixty-seven years. Schwartz held many local and state offices in North Carolina, including Wilmington City Councilman, the Mayor of Wilmington, State Representative, and State Senator. As mayor, Schwartz served during a time of civil unrest surrounding the Wilmington Ten and established a chapter of the Human Relations Commission in the city to ease tensions. In the General Assembly, Schwartz enacted several bills to prevent discrimination and help protect the environment.
He was involved in all facets of life in New Hanover County, donating his time to numerous philanthropic, educational, and religious organizations. Schwartz served as a trustee for UNC Wilmington and created the Sylvia and B.D. Schwartz Graduate Fellowship. Schwartz Hall, a dormitory on UNCW's campus, is named in his honor.
Dr. James F. Merritt, former Professor and Director Emeritus of the Center for Marine Science, dedicated 34 years at UNCW to conducting and facilitating research in the coastal environment. This collection includes materials related to the Marine Expo in Wilmington, N.C., an educational convention that brought together and focused on marine activities in the region. Dr. Merritt helped to organize the event and served as chairman of the first Marine Expo.
This collection contains papers and memorabilia related to Dr. Duncan Randall's personal and family life, his military career with the U.S. Air Force, his academic career as a professor at Wilmington College (now UNCW), and his personal and political interests. Materials include documents, correspondence, newspaper articles and clippings, a stamp collection, ephemera, artifacts, and photographs.
These papers include histories of UNCW, the UNCW Biology Department, Wilmington College and biographical material, alumni newsletters, and newspaper and magazine articles pertaining to Dr. Walter C. Biggs. Also included are early school records dating from 1948-1953, and a copy of the constitution of the Order of Isaac Bear.
Holotypic camera lucida drawings of newly named and described fungi. They are deposited at UNCW Randall Library Special Collections by Dr. David E. Padgett, Professor in Biological Sciences, UNCW in accordance with the International Code of Botanical Nomenclature.
The five fungi include: Saprolegnia truncata Seymour, sp. Leptolegnia hemihypogyna Seymour, sp. nov. Phragmosporangium uniseriatum Seymour, sp. nov. Pythiopsis irregularis Seymour, sp. nov. Pythiopsis papilliformis Seymour, sp. nov.
This collection contains the records of the University of North Carolina Wilmington's Landmark Committee and Historical Events Committee, both of which were convened at the request of the University's Board of Trustees to complete work for a project associated with the University Commons site. The Landmark Committee was tasked with identifying an appropriate landmark to place in the University Commons outdoor space in companionship with its landscaping plan. Once the Landmark Committee's recommendations were approved, the Historical Events Committee was tasked with identifying important places and events to be included as part of the major landmark.
Included in this collection are meeting minutes, correspondence, plans and renderings, reports, and research materials which document the work of both committees between 1983 and 1987. These plans were ultimately never carried out due to lack of funding and shifting priorities.
Dr. William H. Wagoner served as the Superintendent of the New Hanover county school system from 1961-1968, as the fourth President of Wilmington College from 1968-1969 and as the first Chancellor of the University of North Carolina Wilmington from 1969-1990. This collection contains correspondence, publications, newspaper clippings, agendas, photographs, maps and ephemera related to the careers of Dr. Wagoner in Wilmington as well as his personal life.
This collection contains Dr. James Parnell's research data, photographers, and other materials associated with his research on coastal birds in southeastern North Carolina. Parnell was a long time professor in the Biology Department of UNC Wilmington.
This collection documents Pam Toll's work with Acme Studios and as a working artist in the community. Included are personal correspondence, event announcements, certificates, planning and promotional materials for exhibits, news articles and cards. The majority of the material dates from the early 1980s to the early 2000s. Noteable projects represented in the collection include Toll's work with No Boundaries (inspiration for), Paint a Future and Acme Art Studios.
This collection consists of press kits owned by Terry Theodore, professor in the Theatre department at the University of North Carolina Wilmington. Kits include printed and digital promotional material for approximately 200 films.
The materials in this collection are from Dr. McLaurin's personal files, and consist of correspondence, research notes, newspaper clippings, photographs and tapes regarding the 1898 Centennial, Separate Pasts, Celia: A Slave, The Marines of Montford Point documentary, and the North Carolina State Fair. This collection contains both original and photocopied material. Collection not processed. See Special Collections staff for access.
Dr. W. Frank Ainsley was a long-time professor in the Department of Geography and Geology at the University of North Carolina Wilmington. These papers contain materials collected by him during his academic and research careers and focus geographical concerns in southeastern North Carolina primarily during the 1970s to 1990s. Included are journal articles, newspapers, magazines, brochures, pamphlets, notes, photographs, correspondence, maps, and other similar research materials.
This collection contains 5 framed certificates and degrees, loose certificates, photos, books, and artifacts belonging to Dr. Will S. DeLoach, a former chemistry professor at UNCW who helped found the Chemistry department, and whom DeLoach Hall is named after.
This collection consists of the accumulated working papers of professor, historian, and author Dr. Walter Conser Jr. between 1970 and 2014. The collection is comprised primarily of research materials, in English and German, including articles, magazines, newspapers, books in whole or part, and associated notes; also included are publishing documents, personal and professional corresondence, newsletters, serials, memorablia, personal papers, and materials documenting Dr. Walter Conser Jr.'s participation in professional and academic panels, conferences, and events. The collection also contains various correspondence, academic and professional papers of scholars Sumner B. Twiss, William G. McLoughlin, and Gene Sharp. Additionally donated were over 100 books, primarily regarding nonviolence, and 13 phonograph records from the 1960s and 70s.
These materials are especially useful to persons studying issues relating to Native Americans, nonviolent action, civilian-based defense, Western religious history and specifically religious history of the American Southeast.
This collection contains 13 photographs from Andrew Clark’s research abroad in Africa, specifically Ghana, Senegal, and Guinea. Photos are of him with locals as well as the landscape and architecture in the three countries. Also included in this collection are original, color illustrated art pieces of two different castles in Ghana and a CD of traditional Senegalese music.
This collection contains Professor Furia's teaching documents and records, event and review materials, writings, books, VHS tapes, CDs, and a reel-to-reel tape related to his work at UNCW in the Creative Writing, English, and Theatre departments.