Education - Social Studies

Alexander Street Press is a publisher of award-winning online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Content is carefully curated by expert editors around specific subjects and disciplines, sourced from producers and archives around the globe. Find more information.

Education in Video is an online collection of streaming videos developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection contains more than 4,000 video titles totaling 1,300 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. It will give education faculty, students, and in-service teachers a single source for the best research-based professional development video resources available. Includes access to Volume 1, Volume 2, and Volume 3 of the series.

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels. This resource combines the Films on Demand Master Academic Collection, Master Public Library Collection, and Master Career & Technical Education Collection, as well as specific titles subscribed to by UNCW, into one interface. Find more information.

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.

North Carolina News Sources is a collection of more than 190 media sources from across the state, including the Wilmington Star News, the Charlotte Observer, and the Raleigh News & Observer.