Humanities Librarian
Get Started: Suggested Resources
You can find more resources in the tabs, but below is a short list of some of the most frequently used resources for finding scholarly articles, full texts of literary works, books, and more.
Scholarly Articles:
- JSTORArchive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.
- MLA International BibliographySubjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
Full Texts and Video of Literary Works:
- LitFinderLitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
- Twentieth Century Religious Thought, Volume 1: ChristianityA multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century. The collection is fully cross-searchable with the volumes on Judaism, Islam, and Eastern Religions. Find more detailed information.
- Drama OnlineA digital library of the most studied, performed, and critically acclaimed plays from the last 2,500 years. Visit Drama Online to explore play texts and read "context & criticism."
Finding Books in Randall Library's Collection:
Use the search box below to look for books, videos, journals, and other items held in Randall Library's collections. Note that this search can't be used to find journal articles--for that you'll need to either use a database or go to the library's main search at https://library.uncw.edu/.
Finding Books in Other Collections:
- HathiTrustCollection of digitized titles from libraries and research institutions around the world.
- WorldCat Dissertations and ThesesContains records for over 5 million items cataloged as dissertations, theses, or published materials based on theses or dissertations, in WorldCat, including titles provided by NetLibrary. Allows users to quickly and efficiently retrieve records for theses and dissertations.