UNCW Board of Trustees History

University Archives serves as the repository for official records of all divisions of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as other items related to the history of the University. We collect, preserve, arrange, describe, and make available these materials in accordance with the Records Retention and Dispositions Schedule for Institutions of the University of North Carolina System.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Board of Trustees is the governing body for the University of North Carolina Wilmington. The UNC Wilmingotn Board of Trustees began operation in 1972. It succeeded the 100-member Board of Trustees of the Consolidated University of North Carolina (1969-1972) and the Wilmington College Board of Trustees (1958-1969). Prior to 1958, the governing body for Wilmington College was the New Hanover County Board of Education. This collection include meeting minutes, committee files, correspondence, clippings, membership rosters, and photographs from 1958 to the present.

This University Archives collection includes Board of Governors meeting minutes and records from the UNC System Office such as committee reports, legal records, newsletters, and photographs from the 1960s to the present.

This collection consists of administrative files from the Presidents and Chancellors of the institution, including correspondence, reports, installation and inauguration programs, biographical information, and photographs.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Biographical Collection consists of biographical data sheets, photographs, announcements, brochures, and other material collected for public and media relations offices. The collection has information about faculty, staff, administrators, members of the Board of Trustees and several presidents and chancellors. The collection also includes unique research and scholarly writings by faculty.

This collections contains the legislative papers of North Carolina State Senator John J. Burney, Jr. Senator Burney represented New Hanover County from 1966-1972. The legislative papers consist primarily of correspondence, bills, publications, printed materials and newspaper clippings, covering a broad spectrum of social, economic and political issues during his time in office. Topics include taxation, environmentalism, transportation and infrastructure, Wilmington College (now UNCW), and water resources.

This collection contains correspondence, newspaper clippings and assorted personal papers of Dr. John T. Hoggard.

This collection contains years of written records, including minutes of Trustee meetings, personal and Executive Committee correspondence, news clippings, concerning Wilmington College, and the transition to University status. Mr. Graham held the important position of Chairman, Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees of Wilmington College.

The collection consists of twenty scrapbook albums containing letters, documents, news articles, awards, photos, advertisements, and brochures spanning sixty-seven years. Schwartz held many local and state offices in North Carolina, including Wilmington City Councilman, the Mayor of Wilmington, State Representative, and State Senator. As mayor, Schwartz served during a time of civil unrest surrounding the Wilmington Ten and established a chapter of the Human Relations Commission in the city to ease tensions. In the General Assembly, Schwartz enacted several bills to prevent discrimination and help protect the environment.

This collection primarily contains papers, records, photos, speeches, and correspondence of John J. Burney, Jr. from his enlistment into the Army in 1943, directly from high school graduation, through the end of the 20th century.

This collection contains the records of the University of North Carolina Wilmington's Landmark Committee and Historical Events Committee, both of which were convened at the request of the University's Board of Trustees to complete work for a project associated with the University Commons site. The Landmark Committee was tasked with identifying an appropriate landmark to place in the University Commons outdoor space in companionship with its landscaping plan. Once the Landmark Committee's recommendations were approved, the Historical Events Committee was tasked with identifying important places and events to be included as part of the major landmark.