Theatrical Productions

Digital Theatre Plus reveals the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, through documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium. Contains carefully selected collection of full-length plays, supporting texts and teaching guides can be used for planning lessons, teaching in the classroom and for setting homework. Includes an extensive repertoire of award-winning, acclaimed theatre, music and dance performances. Interviews and conversations with leading industry figures. Detailed historical, social and political context guides that encourage engagement with the language, form and structure of plays.

Contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.

Brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II offers a simple way for libraries to acquire highly valued and often difficult-to-find performances. Users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.

Eighteenth Century Drama is a unique archive of almost every play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays. It includes primary sources covering the following themes: Censorship and politics; satire, political endorsement, and social commentary; celebrity culture and fashion; the rise and development of the opera in British theatre; the business and legalities of theatre; women in eighteenth century drama and society; key figures in theatre; staging, technology, and performance; representations of conflict, war, race, religion and historical events in drama; and representations of domestic, familial, and pastoral scenes in drama.

Shakespeare's Globe 1 features 21 plays recorded live on the Globe stage from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam. Inspired and informed by the unique historic playing conditions of two beautiful iconic theatres, Shakespeare’s Globe’s diverse program of work harnesses the power of performance, cultivates intellectual curiosity, and excites learning to make Shakespeare accessible for all. Shakespeare's Globe 2 features 9 landmark productions from the theatre’s most recent seasons, including two productions from Emma Rice’s tenure as Artistic Director and the first production from the indoor Jacobean theatre, the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse. These films showcase the Globe’s two unique playing spaces on Bankside and how different artists respond to them. Each performance transports viewers directly into the standing yard of the world famous Globe or the magical candlelit interior of the captivating new Sam Wanamaker Playhouse.

Shakespeare in Performance goes behind the scenes to shine a light on how Shakespeare’s plays have been interpreted by theatre companies, actors and directors across the centuries. It features prompt books from the world-famous collection at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington DC. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.