UNCW Athletics History

University Archives serves as the repository for official records of all divisions of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as other items related to the history of the University. We collect, preserve, arrange, describe, and make available these materials in accordance with the Records Retention and Dispositions Schedule for Institutions of the University of North Carolina System.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Board of Trustees is the governing body for the University of North Carolina Wilmington. The UNC Wilmingotn Board of Trustees began operation in 1972. It succeeded the 100-member Board of Trustees of the Consolidated University of North Carolina (1969-1972) and the Wilmington College Board of Trustees (1958-1969). Prior to 1958, the governing body for Wilmington College was the New Hanover County Board of Education. This collection include meeting minutes, committee files, correspondence, clippings, membership rosters, and photographs from 1958 to the present.

This collection consists of administrative files from the Presidents and Chancellors of the institution, including correspondence, reports, installation and inauguration programs, biographical information, and photographs.

The Academic Affairs Collection consists of administrative records pertaining to curricula, institutional research, and supporting academic services at the University of North Carolina Wilmington and its predecessor Wilmington College. A significant part of the collection is from institutional research, consisting of self-studies for accreditation and other reports prepared for planning or assessment.

Founded in 1947, Wilmington College became a four-year college in 1965, and then became part of the University of North Carolina System of public higher education in 1969. University of North Carolina Wilmington Student Affairs Records include information about fraternities, sororities, the student government association, student media, student honorary societies, and other student organizations. The Division of Student Affairs oversees intramural and club sports, including football, as well as Transitions Programs, the office responsible for new student orientation and commencement. The Division manages many aspects of the college experience such as student housing, residential life, tutoring and learning services, health services, and disability services. Historic material includes administrators' correspondence, student government meeting minutes, commencement programs, newspapers, yearbooks, periodicals such as literary and creative magazines, departmental newsletters, administrative reports, student handbooks, Codes of Student Life, and marketing materials.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Athletics Records contains departmental information as well as information from men's and women's team sports offices. Although Wilmington College also had student athletes involved in intercollegiate sports, most of the information in this collection dates from after the Wilmington College period. In 1969, Wilmington College joined the University of North Carolina System of public higher education and became
UNC Wilmington. Departmental records include certification and self-study reports for the National Collegiate Athletic Association, newsletters, press releases, athletic directors' correspondence, and legal information about Title IX. Team records include programs, media guides, and schedules. Teams represented in this record group are baseball, basketball, cheerleading, cross country/track and field, golf, soccer, softball, swimming and diving, tennis, volleyball, and wrestling.

This collection contains materials pertaining to the career of Wayne Jackson, a broadcaster for southeastern North Carolina NBC television affiliate WECT (formerly WMFD). In particular, this collection documents three important events in Wilmington College history including the first televised basketball game in the region (that of the Virgina-Carolina Athletic Conference Junior College Basketball Tournament championship game), a dinner held for the Seahawks baseball team following their Junior College Baseball National Championship win, and the telecast of the first four-year graduation at the college.

The John Gunn Sports Collection primarily consists of media guides and game day programs collected by John Gunn for professional and college sports teams and military sports teams. Gunn's research and correspondence, as well as his personal collection of sports programs, statistics, information on teams and individual players, and photographs are also included.

Photos and objects displayed in a 2015 University Archives exhibit on the Seahawk Midnite Madness tradition.

Newspaper clippings about UNCW’s football club. During its first season (1977-1978), the UNCW football club enjoyed big wins against undefeated clubs from Appalachian State and and NC State.

Depicting the evolution of the Seahawk mascot