UNCW Center for Marine Science History

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Board of Trustees is the governing body for the University of North Carolina Wilmington. The UNC Wilmingotn Board of Trustees began operation in 1972. It succeeded the 100-member Board of Trustees of the Consolidated University of North Carolina (1969-1972) and the Wilmington College Board of Trustees (1958-1969). Prior to 1958, the governing body for Wilmington College was the New Hanover County Board of Education. This collection include meeting minutes, committee files, correspondence, clippings, membership rosters, and photographs from 1958 to the present.

The Academic Affairs Collection consists of administrative records pertaining to curricula, institutional research, and supporting academic services at the University of North Carolina Wilmington and its predecessor Wilmington College. A significant part of the collection is from institutional research, consisting of self-studies for accreditation and other reports prepared for planning or assessment.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Academic Department Records consist of administrative materials from academic departments of Wilmington College and the University of North Carolina Wilmington. Wilmington College began as a county-supported two-year college before becoming one of 16 constituent institutions in the University of North Carolina System of public higher education and a nationally recognized university. In 1979, the university created four colleges or schools as part of an administrative reorganization: the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Business Administration, the School of Education, and the School of Nursing. Records include planning reports, annual reports, correspondence, departmental self-study reports, and departmental meeting minutes.

The record group pertains to the administrative history of public service, extended education, and continuing studies at the University of North Carolina Wilmington beginning in 1970. Included are materials on the Marine Trades Program, Marine Expo, and continuing education programs in ecology and biological sciences for youths and adults.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Advancement and University Relations Records contain information about college and university fundraising and public relations. Relevant materials are press releases, news clippings, university publications, and material about special events at the Center for Marine Science and the University of North Carolina Wilmington.

University Archives serves as the repository for official records of all divisions of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as other items related to the history of the University. We collect, preserve, arrange, describe, and make available these materials in accordance with the Records Retention and Dispositions Schedule for Institutions of the University of North Carolina System.

This collection of Brauer papers is organized in several series. The first series to be processed focuses on Brauer's early life, from birth through the late 1940s. In addition to documenting Brauers's early life, this series contain a large amount of material about pre-WWI Germany, with items dating from the early 1900s through 1920. It also includes documentation of the political situation in Germany during Hitler's ascent. Many rare, one-of-a-kind, ephemeral newspapers, leaflets, handouts, and other items are to be found in this series.

Dr. James F. Merritt, former Professor and Director Emeritus of the Center for Marine Science, dedicated 34 years at UNCW to conducting and facilitating research in the coastal environment. This collection includes materials related to the Marine Expo in Wilmington, N.C., an educational convention that brought together and focused on marine activities in the region. Dr. Merritt helped to organize the event and served as chairman of the first Marine Expo.

This collection contains class lectures, research, experiments, various publications, photographs and other information dealing with Lindquist's career.

This collection contains Dr. James Parnell's research data, photographers, and other materials associated with his research on coastal birds in southeastern North Carolina. Parnell was a long time professor in the Biology Department of UNC Wilmington.

The bulk of North Carolina Coastal Federation records document the activities of the organization from its formation in 1982 through 2004, reflecting the stewardship of the organization's successive presidents and the work of its staff and volunteers. The records chronicle the transformation of the North Carolina Coastal Federation from a small group concerned with coastal issues to an active, influential participant in North Carolina coastal management.