UNCW College of Health and Human Services History

University Archives serves as the repository for official records of all divisions of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as other items related to the history of the University. We collect, preserve, arrange, describe, and make available these materials in accordance with the Records Retention and Dispositions Schedule for Institutions of the University of North Carolina System.

The Academic Affairs Collection consists of administrative records pertaining to curricula, institutional research, and supporting academic services at the University of North Carolina Wilmington and its predecessor Wilmington College. A significant part of the collection is from institutional research, consisting of self-studies for accreditation and other reports prepared for planning or assessment.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Academic Department Records consist of administrative materials from academic departments of Wilmington College and the University of North Carolina Wilmington. Wilmington College began as a county-supported two-year college before becoming one of 16 constituent institutions in the University of North Carolina System of public higher education and a nationally recognized university. In 1979, the university created four colleges or schools as part of an administrative reorganization: the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Business Administration, the School of Education, and the School of Nursing. Records include planning reports, annual reports, correspondence, departmental self-study reports, and departmental meeting minutes.

The record group pertains to the administrative history of public service, extended education, and continuing studies at the University of North Carolina Wilmington beginning in 1970. Includes information about Onslow County Extension programs in Health and Human Services.

This collection contains official publications dealing with a variety of New Hanover County isssues such as housing, land use, waste management, transportation, population, public health, and the environment including groundwater and soil and drainage surveys. The collection also includes maps, correspondence dealing with proposed changes in Highway 421, and memoranda to the County Commission.

These papers contain the association's records, photographs, brochures, and related memorabilia, as well as documents belonging to alumni from their time of attendance.

Resource contains information on the merging of James Walker Memorial Hospital and Community Hospital into New Hanover Memorial Hospital. Files include architect plans, equipment inventories, financial statements, merger agreements, etc. from 1957-1978.

The collection contains five scrapbooks and a few loose documents and photographs depicting Blanche Ambrose's life in Wilmington, NC and her education as a nurse.

This collection contains digital photographs, diplomas, a nursing cape, and a log of surgeries observed by Annie Mavis Brady during her time at James Walker Memorial Nursing School in the 1940s.