"Every map, with its accompanying notes, is almost a chapter of history in itself....General readers as well as history students will value the atlas for its meticulously detailed information."-- Times Educational Supplement This outstanding historical atlas from Martin Gilbert offers a definitive visual history of World War I. In 164 finely detailed, easy-to-read maps, it covers the origins of the war, the quarrels of the great European powers and the mobilization of 1914, plus the major battles and all the individual campaigns--including the war at sea and in the air--putting them in the wider context of strategy. Beyond its thorough and precise military coverage, the atlas also explores the diplomatic, economic, and social aspects of the conflict, and many of the maps--such as a map of German food riots in 1916, a state-by-state map of opposition to the war in the United States in April, 1917, or a map analyzing India's manpower contribution to war--have put together normally scattered and diverse information with exceptional clarity. A final section of maps explores the political, economic, and human aftermath of the war. This fully revised Second Edition of The Atlas of World War I features new maps, including maps that detail the creation of Yugoslavia, and the Leipzig War Crimes Trials, and a map analyzing the manpower contribution of American soldiers, state-by-state.
This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, a library of U.S. Congressional documents, U.S. Federal legislative history and much more. Find more information.
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Printing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
Online versions of the papers of Presidents from Ronald Reagan to the present. Print copies of presidential papers back to the Teddy Roosevelt administration are in the library's General Collection J82.