Subject indexes such as MLA and Historical Abstracts can be used to find citations to biographical information found in newspapers, journals, and books. For biographical information on authors, Gale Literary Sources is a good starting point.
Presents industry-leading literature content, including criticism, biographies, reference articles, reviews, primary sources, plot analysis, explication, and multimedia. Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Searches across Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online and Something About the Author Online.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes current, easily accessible references sources, as well as important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. The total number of biographical sketches exceeds 17 million citations and points to more than 2000 publications, covering over 5 million people. The database contains names, birth/ death years, and bibliographic references to books containing material on that person and an indication of which books or articles include a portrait.
Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.