LibGuides: Social Research Methods: Databases and Other Sources

Database and Data Sources

Bureau of the Census
Homepage for the United States Census Bureau. Provides information on population research, programs and surveys, and census careers.
Explore Census Data
Searchable database of digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. Provides information related to the population, economy, and other subjects surveyed by the Census.
LINC
Log Into North Carolina (LINC) is an interactive data retrieval service containing historical information for over 900 data items and a variety of geographic areas within the state. Topics include population, labor force, education, transportation, revenue, agriculture, vital statistics, energy and utilities, and other topics for a variety of geographic areas within the state.

World Development Indicators Online
A comprehensive database of development information covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. Includes data on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators from 1960 onwards.
Historical Statistics of the United States
This five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues. Its work is carried out by these seven projects: The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press, Project for Excellence in Journalism, Pew Internet & American Life Project, The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life, Pew Hispanic Center, Pew Global Attitudes Project, Social & Demographic Trends.