Humanities Librarian
Get Started: Suggested Resources
You can find more resources in the tabs menu, but below is a short list of some of the top go-to resources for this course.
Recommended Article Databases
- Oxford Music OnlineOxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (revised 2011), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more-extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Both of these sources are included in subscriptions to Grove Music Online. Find more information.
- JSTORArchive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.
Recommended Music Indexes and Bibliographies
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only)RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Types of publications and media covered by RILM include: collections of essays, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, journal articles, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included. Find more detailed information.
- Music IndexFeaturing digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
Recommended Audio Subscriptions
- Naxos Music LibraryNaxos Music Library (NML) is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month. Find more information.
- Classical Music LibraryClassical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. Find more information.
Recommended Video Subscriptions
- Films on DemandThis collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels. This resource combines the Films on Demand Master Academic Collection, Master Public Library Collection, and Master Career & Technical Education Collection, as well as specific titles subscribed to by UNCW, into one interface. Find more information.
- Filmakers Library OnlineAn essential film studies database, Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Recommended Research Books
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire, Third Edition by Call Number: ML128.P3 H5 2000
A Guide to Piano Music by Women Composers by Call Number: ML102.P5 D44
Recommended Streaming Performances
- St. Paul Chamber OrchestraLibrary of full-length performances for free online streaming.
Search for Books
Use the search box below to look for books, videos, journals, and other items held in Randall Library's collections. Note that this search can't be used to find journal articles--for that you'll need to either use a database or go to the library's main search at https://library.uncw.edu/.
Below are general call number ranges for Shelf Browsing.
M20- M39 Piano solo
M21 Collections - containing works of two or more composers
M22 Collections - containing works of one composer
M23 Sonatas
M24 Suites and cyclical works
M27 Theme and variations
M200-M212 Piano, four hands
M213 Piano, five, six, eight, etc., hands
M214-M215 Two pianos, two performers
M217-M285 Piano and one other instrument
M310-M344 Piano and two other instruments
M410-M449 Piano and three through six other instruments
M1010 Concertos with orchestra
M1011 Concertos with orchestra (arranged)
M1110 Concertos with string orchestra
M1111 Concertos with string orchestra (arranged)
MT220-MT255 Studies and methods (includes etudes)
MT745-MT758 Instruction and study – Juvenile