LibGuides: Global Trade Since 1450: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

- Search the Randall Library catalog (and other libraries) for history makers' names as authors. This should retrieve their memoirs, diaries and correspondence.

- As you search subject topics in the catalog, note that the following subdivisions indicate primary source (* indicates it can be used with individuals' names,classes of persons [e.g., soldiers], and organizations) :

Archives *
Caricatures and cartoons
Correspondence *
Diaries *
Early works to 1800
Facsimiles
Interviews
Newspapers [e.g., African Americans -- Newspapers]
Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
Pamphlets
Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only)
Photographs
Pictorial works
Songs and music
Sources
Speeches, addresses, etc.*
Treaties

- More suggestions can be found on the "Primary Sources" guide.

British History Online
Nonprofit digital library which provides searchable primary and secondary sources, ranging from medieval to twentieth century related to British history.
Smithsonian Institution Libraries Trade Literature Collection
"The trade literature collection of the Smithsonian is internationally known as an important source for the history of American business, technology, marketing, consumption, and design... The present collection contains more than 500,000 catalogs, technical manuals, advertising brochures, price lists, company histories and related materials representing more than 30,000 companies. "

HeinOnline
Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, a library of U.S. Congressional documents, U.S. Federal legislative history and much more. Find more information.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.
Times (London) Digital Archive
The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.
ARTstor Digital Library
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2 million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Find more information.
Register for a free user account to download images.

Europeana
Searchable collection of resources works with thousands of European archives, libraries, and museums to provide to users access This website gives you access to millions of books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for.
Nineteenth Century Serials Edition
Resource provides a free, online edition of six nineteenth century periodicals and newspapers.

British journals of the 18th and 19th centuries.

Making of America (Cornell)
Provides full-text access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles related to 19th century American history.
Making of America (University of Michigan)
Digital library of primary resources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Digital Library on American Slavery
Searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color, numbering 150,000.
Library of Congress
Homepage for the Library of Congress, the U.S.'s first established cultural institution and the largest library in the world. Provides digital access to many resources.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Provides access to millions of images, photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, and more from libraries, archives, and museums across the U.S.
Poole's index to periodical literature / by William Frederick Poole ; with the assistance as associate editor of William I. Fletcher ; and the coöperation of the American Library Association and the Library Association of the United Kingdom
Index Collection AI3 .P7 1963