LibGuides: History of the Indian Ocean World: Databases

Relevant Databases

African Journals Online
African Journals Online (AJOL) is the world's largest and preeminent platform of African-published scholarly journals.

Alexander Street
Alexander Street Press is a publisher of award-winning online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Content is carefully curated by expert editors around specific subjects and disciplines, sourced from producers and archives around the globe. Find more information.
GeoRef
The geology of North America is covered from 1669 to the present, and global coverage dates back to 1933. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses and dissertations. Find more information.

International Medieval Bibliography
International Medieval Bibliography is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East from AD 300-1500. It aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) published worldwide in over 35 different languages.

Middle East & Africa Database
Provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities. Part of ProQuest Central.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Primary source materials for the study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. Our access includes the collections Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, The Institution of Slavery, and The Age of Emancipation. Includes newspaper collections, books and a broad selection of documents from several different archives.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.