LibGuides: Analyzing Publications for Tenure-Track Faculty: Tools

Tools for Finding Bibliometric Numbers

Journal Citation Reports
The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Journal Citation Reports is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Find more information.

CiteScore
A family of eight indicators that offer complementary views to analyze the publication influence of serial titles of interest. Derived from the Scopus database, CiteScore metrics offer a robust indication of a serials impact.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
SCImago Journal & Country Rank can tell you what the impact factor is for journals in most disciplines.

To use:
Click on the button labeled, "Journal Search." Type some or all of the words in the title of the journal you are analyzing.

Alternatively, you can click on the button labeled, "Journal Rankings," to browse the top journals by discipline.

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
Helps professors, graduate students and researchers to publish their manuscripts in academic journals. It offers current contact information and websites for a large number of journals. Also, Cabell’s provides information on publication guidelines, type of review, number of external review, acceptance rate, ISSN, submission process, and more. Coverage available for the subjects of Business and Education.

Eigenfactor.org: Ranking and Mapping Scientific Journals
Resource for determining impact factor of journals within the science and social science fields.
Google Scholar Metrics
Resource for browsing top 100 publications in several languages, ordered by their five-year h-index and h-median metrics. The h-index metrics show the most-cited articles as well as who cited them.
Publish or Perish
"Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents" a variety of statistics about these citations.

To use:
Download the Publish or Perish software, depending upon your system requirements.

Type in an author's name (taking care to list names that you know of to exclude).

Uncheck or check the appropriate boxes to the right of the search boxes, as needed.

UlrichsWeb
Source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Ulrichsweb covers more than 900 subject areas. Its records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

WorldCat [FirstSearch Interface]
Find books and other materials in libraries worldwide.