Government Information Librarian
Elisabeth Garner
Contact:
UNCW Library
DH 2102-C
UNC-Wilmington
DH 2102-C
UNC-Wilmington
Subjects: Current Topics, Government Resources
UK Parliamentary Papers database
-
UK Parliamentary Papers"U.K. Parliamentary Papers provides complete online coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords. It includes detailed primary source for the history of Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. It covers working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy."
*Please Note: this database is only available to UNCW students, faculty and staff.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
"House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are foremost among the richest and most detailed primary sources for the past three centuries, for Britain, its colonies and the wider world. As such, they constitute a major part of the world’s historical record. Parliamentary Papers influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy and provided a forum for the ideas of thinkers of the day.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) includes the complete file of House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, also known as Sessional Papers or Blue Books, dating from 1715 through to today.
This includes:
- Bills – drafts of legislation, to be reviewed through various parliamentary stages.
- House of Commons Papers – documents resulting from the work of the House of Commons.
- Command Papers – government papers conveying information or decisions the Government wishes to draw to attention of the House, presented ‘by Command of Her Majesty’."
(Source: proquest.libguides.com/parliamentary)