Animals in American History

The National Conservation Training Center Museum and Archives houses films, photos, and documents chronicling the heritage of wildlife conservation.

Images, videos, documents, audio recordings, and maps generated by the US Fish & Wildlife Service.

Table of Contents for US Fish and Wildlife Service Records from 1868 to 1995. Does not include records themselves.

The National Wildlife Research Center's digital collections provide access to content from NWRC's library and archives, including both images and publications.

Established in 1871 as an independent agency to investigate the causes for the decrease of commercial fish and aquatic animals in U.S. coastal and inland waters and to recommend remedies. Resource is an extensive collection of publications, letters of correspondence, research notes, scientific survey expedition logbooks, photographs, and published statistics related to commercial fishing.

Guide to animal rights/animal welfare collections in NC State's Special Collections Research Center. (Note that these collections are not digital.)

Digital archival materials from NC State's animal rights and welfare collections and archival records from the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA).

A collection of academic, archival, and other materials related to various disciplines within the fields of animal studies and animal welfare science. Also links to Animal Sentience, an interdisciplinary academic journal and animal feeling.

Open-access digital library for materials related to biodiversity literature.

Collections focused on wildlife conservation, animal behavior, veterinary medicine, biodiversity, and the history of zoos and aquariums.

Digitized collection of writings from John Muir, a naturalist, explorer, writer, and early advocate for the preservation of the wilderness. Writings and archival materials include autobiographies, correspondence, journals and notebooks, drawings, newsletters, and photographs.

Digitized writings by John Muir, one of the forefathers of the modern environmental movement, on the Sierra Club website.
[More details]

Art collection of the Academy of Natural Sciences at Drexel University, including images of a variety of animals. Some images are digitized and some are not.

Collection of natural history literature, artwork, and information resources from England.

Letters, artwork, case notes, periodicals, and pamphlets covering over 200 years of the history of veterinary science.