Books
Below are several core secondary source works, but there are many others (both print and electronic) in the library that will likely be useful for you.
The Oxford History of the British Empire by ISBN: 9780198205623Publication Date: 1998-09-03Volume I of the Oxford History of the British Empire explores the origins of empire. It shows how and why England, and later Britain, became involved with transoceanic navigation, trade, and settlement during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. The chapters, by leading historians, bothillustrate the interconnections between developments in Europe and overseas and offer specialist studies on every part of the world that was substantially affected by British colonial activity. As late as 1630 involvement with regions beyond the traditional confines of Europe was still tentative; by1690 it had become a firm commitment.series blurbThe Oxford History of the British Empire is a major new assessment of the Empire in the light of recent scholarship and the progressive opening of historical records. It deals with the interaction of British and non-western societies from the Elizabethan era to the late twentieth century, aimingto provide a balanced treatment of the ruled as well as the rulers, and to take into account the significance of the Empire for the peoples of the British Isles. It explores economic and social trends as well as political.
The Cambridge History of the British Empire by ISBN: 9780521045100
Newspapers and Magazines
- 19th Century UK Periodicals19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.
- British Library NewspapersA comprehensive range of regional and local newspapers in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries, providing a range of publications to reflect the social, political and cultural events of the times. The British Library Newspapers' collections feature London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism.
- Economist Historical ArchiveThe Economist Historical Archive is the fully searchable facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. Containing every issue since its launch in 1843, EHA offers full-color images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys.
- Financial Times Historical ArchiveFinancial Times Historical Archive is the complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper since 1888 can be searched and browsed. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.
- Guardian and The Observer (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Digital archive for The Guardian and The Observer from 1791-2003. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- National Geographic Virtual LibraryThis comprehensive collection includes National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994, National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current, National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World, and National Geographic Kids, as well as a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.
- News, Policy & Politics Magazine ArchiveAn archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection will provide valuable primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics.
- Swank Digital CampusStreaming video library of over 300 feature films (comedy, drama, romance, documentary, thriller, crime etc.) through Swank. Allows students the flexibility to legally view course-assigned films outside the classroom. Films can be viewed by unlimited simultaneous users. Find more detailed information.
- Times Literary Supplement Historical ArchiveThe complete online fully-searchable edition of the TLS from the first edition in 1902 onwards. An important resource for studying and researching literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th and 21st centuries.