Education - Lesson Planning

#GoOpenNC is a library of open education resources and network of NC educators.

American Association of School Librarians links a variety of digital tools and applications used for teaching and learning. Resources include codeSpark, FabuLingua, and KidLitTV among others.

To promote the importance of agriculture
to all North Carolina teachers and students. Lesson Plans, Book Titles, AG Mags, et.

Multimedia resource for K-12 educators and professional development across multiple disciplines. Provides resources such as workshops and courses.Annenberg Learner's multimedia resources help teachers increase their expertise in their fields and assist them in improving their teaching methods. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home. All Annenberg Learner videos exemplify excellent teaching.

Resource for the study and education of literature with over 4 million entry pages. Includes encyclopedia articles, critical essays, student essays, biographies, primary sources, interviews, and study guides.

Database of free lesson plans and complementary activities for use in-school or after. Materials searchable by grade. To ensure compatibility, files are available in PDF format. You must have Adobe Reader installed to access the materials, which is available for free at http://get.adobe.com/reader.

At The Classroom Bookshelf, we strive to model week after week the many ways that teachers can consider texts of any genre for classroom use and instructional purposes. We believe that the best way to learn to read, advance as a reader, and learn content through reading is for teachers and children to make choices together; teachers know the students best, and can use a variety of texts to differentiate instruction and meet the needs of each student, whether they are advanced readers or reluctant, “right on” grade level, bilingual learners, or students with special needs.

This site is run by Crayola and offers coloring pages, craft ideas, lesson plans, various games, and much more.

Resource for printable worksheets, crafts, and coloring activities for children.

Resource for educators in grades 1-6. Provides access to worksheets in math, spelling, puzzles, reading comprehension, and language arts.

Resource for educators and students K-12 related to distance learning and learning with technology. Created by a wife and husband team with education backgrounds.

Nonprofit organization providing free access to primary education curriculum materials for children.

The African Studies Center has been awarded a grant from the Oak Foundation for a project, “K-5 digital learning of contemporary Africa using technology,” which will produce resources for elementary school educators. The ASC, in collaboration with UNC’s School of Education, will use the grant to create lesson plans and user guides and curated social studies, arts, and music content focused on Africa that teachers can use in the classroom. The strategy of digitizing up-to-date content in this pilot program will align with pedagogical best practices and classroom-based and remote learning hybrid models. The project intends to create accessible, interactive, and current web-based resources for educators. The Oak Foundation is a global funding organization that commits its resources to addressing global, social, and environmental issues.

A collaborative project to create freely available, open textbooks in K-12 subjects such as economics, US government, spelling, and health.

Provides resources such as lesson plans, writing prompts, news quizzes, student contests, and more, all based on the articles, essays, photos, videos, and graphics published on NYTimes.com.

Directory of free online lesson plans and lesson plan resources for all grades and subjects. Subjects include literacy, math, social studies, science, the arts, and more.

Provides lesson plans, themed resources, primary source sets, presentations and activities, and collection connections.

Resource for purchasing children's books featured in Candlewick Press's book club.

News from the National Archives as well as links to guides and finding aids for its collections. A selection of historical documents and online exhibits is also available.

This website provides resources for educators of English. Provides grant information, lesson plans, and professional development resources. Covers grades from elementary to college level.

Resource provides lessons and activities for students from Pre-K to College/University.

from National Museum of the American Indian, explore featured instructional and informational resources, below, or search all resources using the search tool.

Resource from the National Endowment for the Humanities. Provides lesson plans, teacher's guides, and meda resources for the humanities.

The OER Commons is a non-profit organization that make OER across primary, secondary, and higher education findable. Each OER has a place for ratings and comments. You can re-share any adapted versions of the resources you've used in your classroom.

UNC-TV and PBS have curated FREE, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more for teachers like you.

Perma-Bound's hundreds of guides corresponding to classic curriculum titles (both fiction and nonfiction) contain all the information you need to create a lesson plan unique to your classroom. All titles are FREE for download*.

Here at ReadWriteThink, our mission is to provide educators, parents, and afterschool professionals with access to the highest quality practices in reading and language arts instruction by offering the very best in free materials.

Lesson plans for grades K - 12. Many of these are internet based. Check out the language arts section for research skills lessons.

Teacher-created site for downloadable teaching resources and online materials such as lesson plans, discussion forums, eBooks, printable worksheets, and more.