LibGuides: Healthcare in Southeast North Carolina: Manuscript Collections

General

Below are collections that feature a significant amount of material specific to healthcare in Southeastern North Carolina as it relates to the education, practice, and function of healthcare organizations and professionals. Please note that citizen health and local healthcare practices are often mentioned in the correspondence of many individuals and family papers not listed here. You can search for additional manuscript collections here.

MS 026 Wilmington, NC and the Lower Cape Fear Area During the Civil War
This collection contains excerpts of letters, diaries, papers, and published materials comprise the body of this research collection, which relate specifically to Wilmington and the Lower Cape Fear (LCF) during the Civil War. Subjects include troop movements, civilian life, shipping, prisoners of war, and military engagements. Wilmington was the last Confederate port to be captured; blockading and blockade runners and the defense and capture of Fort Fisher are especially well represented.
MS 031 Alton A. Lennon Congressional Papers
This collection contains the papers of Congressman Alton Lennon during his tenure as U.S. Representative for North Carolina's 7th congressional district from 1957-1972. Included in the collection is correspondence, reports, and other documents related to legislation, district affairs, and politics during the time. Also included are three large scrapbooks documenting news coverage from Congressman Lennon's career and campaigns.
MS 033 John J. Burney, Jr. Legislative Papers
This collections contains the legislative papers of North Carolina State Senator John J. Burney, Jr. Senator Burney represented New Hanover County from 1966-1972. The legislative papers consist primarily of correspondence, bills, publications, printed materials and newspaper clippings, covering a broad spectrum of social, economic and political issues during his time in office. Topics include taxation, environmentalism, transportation and infrastructure, Wilmington College (now UNCW), and water resources.
MS 046 Dr. Hubert A Eaton, Sr. Papers
This extensive collection includes the original materials and photocopies of the legal actions instituted by Dr. Eaton and his fellow plaintiffs to compel the integration of the fundamental institutions of New Hanover County--the public schools and the hospital--in the 1960s and 1970s. Moreover, the collection also reflects the broad spectrum of Dr. Eaton's interests and activities which included medical and public health issues, education, civil rights and athletics.
MS 116 Quelch Nursing Memorabilia
This collection consists of nursing memorabilia that belonged to Dorothea Quelch, R.N. Items include a small Manual of The Guild of St. Barnabas for Nurses containing the Constitution and By-Laws, as well as various prayers for the sick and dying or the dead; booklet of Constitution and By-Laws for the Alumnae Association of the Tucker Sanatorium Training School for Nurses in Richmond, Virginia; Constitution and By-Laws of District No. 11 Registered Nurses Association in Wilmington, North Carolina; and a graduation announcement dated 1920.
MS 127 Barden Family Papers
This collection contains the papers of the Barden Family of Southeastern North Carolina. Contained are records, receipts, deeds, correspondence, and photographs. All items are photocopies, except for the photographs from 1922.
MS 142 James Walker Memorial Hospital School of Nursing Alumni Association Papers
These papers contain the association's records, photographs, brochures, and related memorabilia, as well as documents belonging to alumni from their time of attendance.
MS 172 Dr. Thomas Fanning Wood Family Papers
Papers of the Dr. T. F. Wood family of Wilmington, NC. Includes Dr. Woods's Civil War recollections, correspondence, writings of Dr. Edward Jenner Wood, and genealogy of the Wood family.
MS 205 Dr. Leroy W. Upperman Collection
This collection contains materials relating to the education, career, and civic activities of Dr. Leroy Upperman, including diplomas, certificates, photographs, audiovisual materials, and memorabilia. Also included are diplomas and certificates related to the education and careers of Callie Smith Upperman and Leroy Upperman, Jr. Materials date from 1934 to 1996.
MS 233 New Hanover Regional Hospital Documents
Resource contains information on the merging of James Walker Memorial Hospital and Community Hospital into New Hanover Memorial Hospital. Files include architect plans, equipment inventories, financial statements, merger agreements, etc. from 1957-1978.
MS 294 Jean C. and Morris F. Powell Memorabilia
This collection contains the personal memorabilia of Jean C. and Morris F. Powell, including pharmaceutical advertisements, photographs and a diploma from James Walker Memorial Hospital Nursing School.
MS 338 Mike McIntyre Congressional Collection
Congressman Mike McIntyre served as the Representative for North Carolina's 7th Congressional district from 1997 to 2015. McIntyre's Congressional collection consists of papers and memorabilia accrued during his time in office. Materials in this collection cover a wide range of subject areas pertinent to North Carolina’s 7th district and McIntyre’s interactions as a Congressman including but not limited to agriculture, coastal issues, economic development, health care, military and veterans’ affairs, senior citizens affairs and U.S. Presidents.
MS 364 Diane Satterfield Collection
This collection contains correspondence, newspaper clippings, photos, pamphlets, and printed documents related to nurse Diane Satterfield and her education at the James Walker Memorial Hospital School of Nursing in Wilmington, NC.
MS 371 Blanche Ambrose Scrapbook Collection
The collection contains five scrapbooks and a few loose documents and photographs depicting Blanche Ambrose's life in Wilmington, NC and her education as a nurse.
MS 372 Bulluck Hospital Collection
This collection contains separated scrapbook pages of newspaper articles, announcements, correspondence, photographs etc. related to the Bulluck Hospital in Wilmington, NC from the early 20th century.
MS 381 Annie Mavis Brady Nursing Collection
This collection contains diplomas, a nursing cape, and a log of surgeries observed by Annie Mavis Brady during her time at James Walker Memorial Nursing School in the 1940s.
Special Collections Vertical Files
The Special Collections vertical files are compiled by Special Collections staff on an ongoing basis and contain material such as articles, photocopied documents, maps, emphemera, etc. of various persons, places, organizations, and topical subjects related to UNCW and Southeastern North Carolina history.
UNCW Academic Department Records, College of Health and Human Services
This collection holds records from the College of Health and Human Services at the University of North Carolina Wilmington from 1960 to the present. CHHS consists of the School of Health and Applied Human Sciences (SHAHS), School of Social Work, and School of Nursing. Administrative files produced by campus offices are predominant in this record group.
more...less...
Most of the files document growth, development, and accreditation of degree programs in physical education, athletic training, parks and recreation management, nursing, and social work. In addition, there is information from clinical research, exercise science, gerontology, and public health. Types of materials are accreditation reports, admission bulletins, annual reports, administrative correspondence, feasibility studies, graduation programs, marketing materials, news releases, newsletters, photographs, policies, graduate and undergraduate degree program proposals, self-study evaluations, and strategic plans. Topics include fundraising for Trask Coliseum; the James Walker Associate Degree in Nursing which began as a hospital-based training program; and UNCW Health and Human Services Week.