Contact Your Librarian
Open Access Repositories
The resources below are freely available databases that may include a variety of material: preprint (draft or preliminary) versions of articles, conference papers and/or posters, book chapters, white papers, and more. These repositories help speed up dissemination and enhance discoverability and access to early-stage scholarship across disciplines.
It is important to note that these materials have likely not been edited or benefited from the pivotal role of peer-review, which validates and improves the quality of final published journal articles.
- Computer Science Research Network (CompSciRN)Repository for computer science research, the study of computer systems and the impact that design, theory, and development have on society.
- MIT Open Access ArticlesCollection consists of scholarly articles written by MIT-affiliated authors made available to the public.
- MIT Open Courseware - Electrical Engineering and Computer ScienceWeb-based publication of MIT course content related to the subject.
- TechRxivAn open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in the areas of engineering, computer science, and related technology.
Recommended Databases
For research in all areas of computer science and access to conference proceedings, book chapters, and peer reviewed journal articles, we recommend these databases.
- ACM Digital LibraryFull text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computer science, information technology, mathematics and statistics.
- arXiv.orgOpen access to hundreds of thousands of e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
- Emerald Full TextSearch the full text collection of 138 titles in computer science, management, marketing, engineering, social work, and information science journals.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s important social issues. Featuring continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites, this database provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. If you are taking CSC 385 Ethical Issues in Computing, this database is an excellent place to begin examining ethical facets to computer science issues (among others).
- Web of ScienceThis collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in anthropology, biology, chemistry, biochemistry, criminology, education, environmental sciences, geography, geology, marine sciences, mathematics and statistics, physics, psychology, social work, sociology, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide. Find more detailed information.
- IEEE XploreIEEE Xplore is the flagship digital platform for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore contains more than 6 million documents and other materials from some of the world's most cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and related sciences.
In Spring 2024 UNCW Library received one-time funding for two resources, Scopus and IEEE Electronic Library, to support UNCW’s increased focus on research as part of its designation as an R2 university. Funding is guaranteed for only one year, so feedback from the campus community is critical. In addition to this feedback, Library staff will review usage and cost metrics for these resources over the next year in an effort to demonstrate a long-term need for these subscriptions. You can access the feedback form here: https://forms.office.com/r/M18cq3gaFY
Helpful Websites
- ACM: Collected AlgorithmsSoftware associated with papers published in the Transactions on Mathematical Software, as well as other ACM journals are incorporated in CALGO. This software is refereed for originality, accuracy, robustness, completeness, portability, and lasting value. (See the ACM Algorithms Policy for details.)
- ACM Career and Job CenterEmployment search engine powered by Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Provides job-seekers with account and resume management and employers with the ability to post employment positions.
- American Society for Information Science & Technology (ASIS&T)The Association for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T). Provides resources related to information science practice and research such as publications, memberships, and programs.
- Berkman Klein Center for Internet and SocietyNonprofit research center at Harvard University dedicated to exploring cyberspace. Provides information on publications, programs, and projects and tools.
- Center for Internet and SocietyPublic interest technology law and policy program at Stanford Law School. Provides law students and the general public with educational resources and analyses of policy issues arising at the intersection of law, technology, and the public interest.
- Free Online Dictionary of Computing (FOLDOC)Searchable dictionary of computing terms, jargon, systems, theory, architecture, and more.
- Human-Computer Interaction BibliographyBibliography of materials related to HCI, a discipline concerned with implementation of interactive computing systems for human use and relevant adjacent studies.
- IEEE Computer SocietyIEEE and its members inspire a global community to innovate for a better tomorrow through its highly-cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities.
- Internet SocietyNon-profit organization dedicated to keeping internet access open and transparent to everyone.
- Linux OnlineInformation and resources about the Linux Operating System.
- The Register: Sci/Tech NewsThe Register is a leading global online tech publication. The core audiences are the UK and US. The bulk of the remaining readership are located in Canada, Australia and northern Europe. The Register covers the issues they face at work every day – in software, hardware, networking and IT security. The Register is also known for its "off-duty" articles, on science, tech culture, and from cult columnists such as the BOFH and Verity Stob, which reflect our readers' many personal interests.
- SlashdotSlashdot (sometimes abbreviated as /.) is a news website that originally billed itself as "News for Nerds. Stuff that Matters". It features news stories on science and technology that are submitted and evaluated by its users.
- SourceForgeFind, Create, and Publish Open Source software for free.
- W3C: World Wide Web ConsortiumThe World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) is an international community that develops open standards to ensure the long-term growth of the Web.