The resources below are freely available databases that may include a variety of material: preprint (draft or preliminary) versions of articles, conference papers and/or posters, book chapters, white papers, and more. These repositories help speed up dissemination and enhance discoverability and access to early-stage scholarship across disciplines.
It is important to note that these materials have likely not been edited or benefited from the pivotal role of peer-review, which validates and improves the quality of final published journal articles.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s important social issues. Featuring continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites, this database provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. If you are taking CSC 385 Ethical Issues in Computing, this database is an excellent place to begin examining ethical facets to computer science issues (among others).
Randall Library annually assesses the cost and use of its licensed resources to ensure that funds are being used effectively and that curricular needs are being met. Faced with a campus budget reallocation in the fiscal year 2023, the Collections Committee and liaison librarians evaluated resources for cost, cost per use, and course need. Based on these criteria, this resource was determined to be cancelled.
If you would like to provide feedback about this resource and decision, please share it in the form below.
This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in anthropology, biology, chemistry, biochemistry, criminology, education, environmental sciences, geography, geology, marine sciences, mathematics and statistics, physics, psychology, social work, sociology, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide. Find more detailed information.
Software associated with papers published in the Transactions on Mathematical Software, as well as other ACM journals are incorporated in CALGO. This software is refereed for originality, accuracy, robustness, completeness, portability, and lasting value. (See the ACM Algorithms Policy for details.)
Public interest technology law and policy program at Stanford Law School. Provides law students and the general public with educational resources and analyses of policy issues arising at the intersection of law, technology, and the public interest.
The Register is a leading global online tech publication. The core audiences are the UK and US. The bulk of the remaining readership are located in Canada, Australia and northern Europe. The Register covers the issues they face at work every day – in software, hardware, networking and IT security. The Register is also known for its "off-duty" articles, on science, tech culture, and from cult columnists such as the BOFH and Verity Stob, which reflect our readers' many personal interests.
Slashdot (sometimes abbreviated as /.) is a news website that originally billed itself as "News for Nerds. Stuff that Matters". It features news stories on science and technology that are submitted and evaluated by its users.