Southeast North Carolina Writers

This collection contains one postcard with a printed mini-essay on the value of a forty letter “alfabet” by Bernard Shaw; the address Ayot Saint Lawrence, Welwyn, Hertfordshire, is also printed at the end of the card. Added to this are further, handwritten arguments supporting the need for an expanded alphabet, which are dated December 26, 1947, and initialed “G.B.S.” The card is addressed to “William Russell M.S. Athens (Georgia) U.S. America.” The card bears an English stamp and is hand-cancelled.

This extensive collection includes the original materials and photocopies of the legal actions instituted by Dr. Eaton and his fellow plaintiffs to compel the integration of the fundamental institutions of New Hanover County--the public schools and the hospital--in the 1960s and 1970s. Moreover, the collection also reflects the broad spectrum of Dr. Eaton's interests and activities which included medical and public health issues, education, civil rights and athletics.

This collection contains the galley, with artist's handwritten corrections for A Balkan Sketchbook by Claude Howell and fifteen (15) leaves (30 sketches) of the original sketches. The book was published as a first and only edition in December 1977. The edition was limited to 500 signed and numbered copies.

This collection contains papers relating to Jessie Clifford Rehder's career as a writer and academic. The collection includes the manuscripts, drafts, and edits of Rehder's writings that varied in genre from poems to novels. In addition, the collection includes documents, correspondence, journals, and newspaper clippings of Rehder's time as a lecturer at UNC Chapel Hill.

This collection contains correspondence from Wilmington native Will Inman to Neal Thomas, as well as some of Inman's works and letters to additional recipients.

This collection contains various articles and letters written by Susan Taylor Block, as well as photographs, of local and historical events of importance in the Lower Cape Fear.

Will Inman is a Wilmington-born poet who spent most of his time in Tuscon, Arizona. The Collected Works of Will Inman contains papers from 1945 to 2009 that provide context to Inman's life as a poet. These papers include Inman's literary work, such as poems, short stories, novel manuscripts, literary publications, and handwritten notes. In addition, this collection includes Inman's editorial work. From the early 1960s to the early 1980s, Inman edited and distributed "Kauri." "Kauri" is a little magazine created by Inman with a mimeograph that contains poetry by other authors.

The bulk of this collection follows the birth of an idea for books on flora and fauna, the living desert, rainforest, and waters around an island, from first thoughts and art doodles, to finished product. Most of these notes focus on A North American Rain Forest Scrapbook, which can be found in its complete form in the library's general collection. The remainder of the collection includes newspaper clippings, correspondence with publishers, and biographical information about Wright-Frierson.

The Hugh Zachary Papers contain materials pertaining to Zachary's career as a writer and consist of research materials, notes, manuscript proposals, outlines, and drafts of his work. The bulk of the materials included in this collection pertain to Zachary's research for the White Indian book series, of which he authored 14 books under the pen name, Donald Clayton Porter. The collection also contains manuscripts for both published and unpublished novels written by Zachary including two works authored under the pen name, Abby Trent. Additional materials documenting his career and interactions with his agent are also present. The bulk of the materials date from 1992-1998.

This collection consists of correspondence, clippings, manuscript material, photographs, interviews and questionnaires relating to the research and publication of George Walton's Devils Brigade, Faint The Trumpet Sounds, The Wasted Generation and Rome Fell Today.

This collection contains papers related to Lou Buttino's writing career. These feature his magazine articles, newspaper columns, proposals, and manuscripts, as well as media copies of his video and film work.

This collection contains papers and historical research of Dr. Chris E. Fonveille, a former history faculty member at UNCW.

This collection contains the papers, records, research, teachings, and publications of writer Paul Wilkes.

The collection contains letters, personal research material, newspaper clippings and memorabilia belonging to Bob High, a newspaper reporter and author, from Whiteville, North Carolina.

This collection contains research material collected by author Wilbur D. Jones, Jr. for his novels, including interviews, newspaper and magazine articles, photographs, author notes, correspondence with publishers, and drafts of the manuscripts.

This collection represents the over twenty years of research that went into the creation of Mr. Hardee's privately published volume Three Southern Families - A History of Connecting Hardee, Jones, and Davis Families of Coastal North Carolina, published in 1994 by Southport Historical Society, Southport NC and printed by the Barefoot Publishing Company, Wilmington, NC. The papers contain letters, diaries, ledgers, notes and ephemera dating from the early 19th century and through the 20th century, relating to the Hardee, Jones, and Davis families of Southeastern North Carolina.

This collection includes personal and business letters, newspaper and magazine articles, hand-written and typed drafts, journals, maps, pictures, and research notes relating to Lewis Philip Hall's study of the history of Wilmington and the south for Land of the Golden River, Volumes I, II, and III.

This collection contains the hurricane preparedness research done by Charles R. Calhoun, a retired U.S. Navy captain, for his corresponding book on the subject. Material in this collection includes correspondence, charts, reports, newspaper articles, published works, marketing materials, FEMA documents, and various preparedness items.

This collection contains papers relating to the history of the Rehder family in Wilmington, North Carolina. The collection includes original documents, photocopies of original documents, correspondence, and photographs that detail the lives and lineage of Johann and Johanna Rehder beginning in 1844. Rehder family history is represented through both oral history and visual materials including typescripts, genealogical documents, photographs and scrapbooks.

The materials in this collection are from Dr. McLaurin's personal files, and consist of correspondence, research notes, newspaper clippings, photographs and tapes regarding the 1898 Centennial, Separate Pasts, Celia: A Slave, The Marines of Montford Point documentary, and the North Carolina State Fair. This collection contains both original and photocopied material. Collection not processed. See Special Collections staff for access.

This collection consists of the accumulated working papers of professor, historian, and author Dr. Walter Conser Jr. between 1970 and 2014. The collection is comprised primarily of research materials, in English and German, including articles, magazines, newspapers, books in whole or part, and associated notes; also included are publishing documents, personal and professional corresondence, newsletters, serials, memorablia, personal papers, and materials documenting Dr. Walter Conser Jr.'s participation in professional and academic panels, conferences, and events. The collection also contains various correspondence, academic and professional papers of scholars Sumner B. Twiss, William G. McLoughlin, and Gene Sharp. Additionally donated were over 100 books, primarily regarding nonviolence, and 13 phonograph records from the 1960s and 70s.

This collection features the photography of Patricia O'Meara Robbins and the family research her daughter, Carroll Robbins Jones, compiled with her husband, Wilbur D. Jones, Jr., to write their book about Patricia's life and career--"She 'Shot' Her Way to Success: How China's Empress Dowager Ci Xi Launched a Photographer's Trailblazing Career," published in 2016.

This collection contains Professor Furia's teaching documents and records, event and review materials, writings, books, VHS tapes, CDs, and a reel-to-reel tape related to his work at UNCW in the Creative Writing, English, and Theatre departments.

This collection contains manuscript drafts and research material related to specific works of author and UNCW professor Philip Gerard, including articles, photos, and biographical information.