The John F. Kennedy Presidential Library is one of fourteen Presidential Libraries within the National Archives and Records Administration. The Library acquires, preserves, arranges, describes, and provides access to primary-source materials in all formats that document the life, career, and times of John F. Kennedy, as well as the work of the Kennedy administration and its impact on the public. Reference the "civil rights" subject when searching collections.
The LBJ Presidential Library is one of 14 presidential libraries administered by the National Archives and Records Administration. Today, the library houses more than 45 million pages; an extensive audiovisual collection, including more than 650,000 photos and 5,000 hours of recordings; and, approximately 2,000 oral history interviews. The papers of Lyndon B. Johnson, which form the core of the library's holdings, include the White House files of his presidency (1963-1969), and papers from his service as a U.S. Congressman (1937-1949), U.S. Senator (1949-1961), and Vice President (1961-1963). A portion of those collections have been digitized (see Online Collections). For material related to the Civil Rights Movement, search the relevant subject guides under "Domestic" affairs.
Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.
Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present. Finding aid for congressional hearings (published and unpublished), committee prints, and committee reports and documents from 1824-1969. Includes access to U.S. Serial Set, a collection of primary source U.S. government publications compiled under directive of the Congress, Congressional Record, and Hearings Digital Collection. It contains comprehensive and often detailed information on an extremely wide range of subjects, including economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Also includes access to legislative histories, bills by number, committee hearings and testimony, members of congress directory, and social media. Find more detailed information.
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Usually updated the morning after session adjourns.
This collection contains the official records of Governor Terry Sanford and his office, including general correspondence, speeches, statements, reports, extraditions and requisitions documents, and commissions of appointments. It also includes the records of several special offices, commissions and committees.
Luther H. Hodges was born in Cascade, Virginia on March 9, 1898. His family moved to what would become Eden, North Carolina a few years later. Hodges completed his college education at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, then went to work at the Carolina Cotton and Woolen Mills in Leaksville. He left the company to enter politics, serving on both the State Board of Education and the Highway and Public Works Commission. Hodges was elected lieutenant governor of North Carolina in 1952, and succeeded Governor Umstead upon his death in 1954.
Daniel K. Moore was governor of North Carolina from 1965-1969. His papers are held at the State Archives of North Carolina. A portion of them have been digitized and can be found at the included link. Please contact the State Archives directly for further information on access.
Documentary project that recorded and preserves the oral history of African American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, 1890s to the 1950s. Project interviewed more than 1000 black Southerners who experienced legal segregation.
Over three hundred of the interviews in the digital collection were conducted with North Carolina residents. The Charlotte and Enfield regions of North Carolina are especially represented in the collection; there are also many recordings from the Durham, James City, New Bern and Wilmington regions.
The original interviews were recorded on audio-cassettes and the entire collection is housed in the John Hope Franklin Research Center for African and African American History and Culture, in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University. See Inventory of the Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow South Records, 1940-1997 and undated (bulk 1993-1997).