Film Studies

Alexander Street Press is a publisher of award-winning online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Content is carefully curated by expert editors around specific subjects and disciplines, sourced from producers and archives around the globe. Find more information.

AFI Catalog is a national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. An essential film studies database, the AFI Catalog is a unique filmographic resource providing an unmatched level of comprehensiveness and detail on every feature-length film produced in America or financed by American production companies. Detailed information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes are included for each film. Cataloging currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards. Find more information.

Bloomsbury Video Library, formerly known as ArtFilms, features content from filmed performances and fiction films to documentaries and instructional video. It offers more than 2,000 films from top artists and independent filmmakers and contains an international range of content across the visual and performing arts, film, history, and more. The collection features exclusive indie films and shorts, avant-garde performances, interviews with renowned writers, artists, choreographers, performers and practitioners, documentaries on an international range of themes, traditions, and historical figures. Content originates from Australia, the UK, the USA, Germany, Denmark, France, Hungary, Canada, Switzerland, Pakistan, Indonesia, Africa, and Japan and covers such subject areas as Visual & Applied Arts, Film Studies, Media Studies, Music & Dance, History, and Philosophy. 

Essential documentary films for higher education, includes over 800 streaming video titles. Searchable, interactive transcripts. Videos can be linked to or embedded in Blackboard. Features exclusive educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films. Find more information.

A comprehensive online resource for the visual study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. It’s also a resource for a study of the discipline itself: By placing examples of traditional ethnographic methodologies alongside indigenous-made films representing previously overlooked perspectives, scholars, teachers and students of anthropology can gain a sense of the discipline’s history and of its future direction. Includes access to Volumes 1 - 4.

An essential film studies database, Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

Film Platform is an innovative collaboration between leading filmmakers and film distributors from around the world bringing the finest documentary films to an academic audience. This global selection of films includes many Oscar nominated documentaries and film festival winners. These titles, chosen for their mastery of filmmaking, introduce new concepts, expose students to fresh perspectives, and enhance classroom discussions.

Contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.

Brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II offers a simple way for libraries to acquire highly valued and often difficult-to-find performances. Users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.