Many databases have filters or ways to limit your searching by date, document type, etc. If you need film reviews from a certain time period, look for the date settings in the database and limit it to "reviews".
InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews. Randall Library has access to the following collections: EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage; EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1); EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2); EIMA4: Rock, Folk and Hip-hop.
Free-to-access documents including film reviews, interviews, popular and scholarly articles, publicity materials, program notes, book excerpts, pamphlets, filmmakers’ texts and correspondence, and many other rare archival documents dating from the early 1900s to the present. The collection includes about 60,000 scanned documents.