Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
Created and hosted by George Mason University.
To get started with Zotero, simply download and install:
You may also wish to set up a free Zotero account to back-up and sync your files across multiple devices. (More help)
Within Zotero, you can link to UNCW's custom list of databases the library has. You will then have access to the Library Lookup option under the Locate button in Zotero to search UNCW's databases for a copy of an item.
For a detailed tutorial, see UNC-CH's Zotero page. Instead of UNC-CH's link resolver, enter http://rf2tt2th6w.search.serialssolutions.com/ in the OpenURL section for UNCW-accessible content.
Browser plug-in that adds resources to Zotero library, a bibliography-making program.
Resource for collaborative web-based bibliographies.
Zotero support page for making manual back-ups of data.
Resource provides user information on EndNote and Zotero, bibliography programs.
Tool for extracting Zotero and Mendeley bibliographic references from a .docx document.
A feature from Zotero (web-based bibliography maker) that allows users to subscribe to updates from journals and automatically add relevant articles to the user's Zotero library.
Zotero - Creating an Annotated Bibliography
Free software used for managing, saving, and citing research sources.
Zotero “watches” the pages you view to see if any of them contain citations to books, articles or other sources. When it identifies a source on the page, the Zotero Connector will display a type-specific icon near the address bar in the browser.
Just click the icon and Zotero will automatically save the citation (and the full text of the source, if available) into your Zotero library. Notice that you have to have the Zotero software open on your computer for the import to work!
The Zotero icon in your browser will display in different places in different browsers:
Note: Like any citation manager/generator, in order for Zotero to produce accurate citations and bibliographies, it is extremely important that you ensure that each item is given complete and accurate metadata in the Zotero library, including classifying each as the correct item type. Often this will require manual edits. If Zotero contains incomplete or inaccurate information, your citations will be inaccurate.
After installing Zotero, you'll notice that there is now a "Zotero" button in Microsoft Word on your computer, as well as in Google Docs (only in web browsers to which you have added the Zotero plugin).
These buttons allow you to automatically add your sources to your paper.
After you write a sentence that needs a citation, simply click "add/edit citation" to add in-text citation (depending on what citation style you use, this may mean a parenthetical citation, footnote, endnote, etc).
After you are done with your paper, simply click "add/edit bibliography" to add your bibliography at the end of your paper. When you revise your paper, adding or removing more in-text citations, simply click "refresh" to update your bibliography.
Need another citation style?
If you need a citation style not automatically included in Zotero, simply:
The style will be downloaded and installed automatically. More help.
Zotero tab not appearing in Word?
Is your Zotero tab not appearing in Word? Try the tips suggested on this websites:
