UNCW & Wilmington College -- Black History On Campus

Williston College served local African American students and returning veterans, operating as an extension unit of Fayetteville State Teachers College until 1955, and then as a unit that was administratively part of Wilmington College. UNCW's Board of Trustees officially closed Williston College two years after Wilmington College's desegregation in 1962. In addition to course descriptions, the academic catalogue includes an application for admission, biographical information for the institution’s leaders, tuition rates, fees, and requirements for the Associate in Arts. UNCW has issues published in 1955-1956 and 1958-1959.

Wilmington College opened for white students as a college extension center of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. It remained segregated until 1962. In addition to course information and academic policies, the Wilmington College bulletin published photographs of buildings, illustrations, the historical background of the college, requirements for the Associate in Arts, information about vocational education, and statements of the college's mission and objectives.

The Williston High School Yearbook includes coverage of Williston College, such as photographs of students and faculty and information about curricula.

Published by the Board of Education, Wilmington, NC, 1951-1952. Covers primary, secondary, and post-secondary education in New Hanover County.

This digital collection from the State Archives contains documents and photographs related to African American education in North Carolina through the late 1950s.

Michael S. Williams, consultant and Black On Black Project founder, presents an art project that aims to celebrate the history of Black educators in Wilmington, N.C. from the 20th century. Using portraiture and performance, the project shares their experiences before and after desegregation.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Committee and Administration records include material from offices, departments, campus-wide committees, Staff Senate, and Faculty Senate. Policies, curriculum planning information, Honorary Degree information, meeting minutes, Equal Employment Opportunity/Affirmative Action plans, and records about the establishment of the Upperman African American Student Center are some of the material in this record group. The collection demonstrates the broad range of service and administrative activity conducted by faculty and staff of UNC Wilmington along with administrators. Material from Human Resources and the Office of Institutional Diversity are included in this record group. Originally a locally supported two-year college, Wilmington College joined the University of North Carolina System of public higher education in 1969.

Published by the NC Department of Public Instruction in cooperation with the Veterans Administration in 1949

Interview with Bertha B. Todd who was the first and last librarian at Williston High School. She discusses her career in education and librarianship in Wilmington, as well as her role in community service and race relations. Following integration and the closing of Williston, she transferred to Hoggard High. Mrs. Todd intervened to prevent riots during integration.

In this interview, Georgia Bowden, Herman Johnson, Eva Mae Smith and Lela Pierce Thompson discuss their education and experiences at Williston College and Wilmington College during and after segregation.

In this interview, Georgia Bowden, Herman Johnson, Eva Mae Smith and Lela Pierce Thompson discuss their education and experiences at Williston College and Wilmington College during and after segregation.

Transcribed oral history interviews of alumni and teachers from Williston High School in Wilmington, NC.

Photographs, manuscripts, postcards, maps, and more from the archives at the New Hanover County Public Library in Wilmington, NC.

Cape Fear Museum's collection of more than 57,000 objects, paper documents, and photographs sheds light on the history, science, and cultures of the Lower Cape Fear. This online catalog provides access to the Museum's photograph collection, consisting of more than 15,000 images. This catalog will continue to grow as the Museum collects additional photographs.