UNCW Cameron School of Business History

University Archives serves as the repository for official records of all divisions of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as other items related to the history of the University. We collect, preserve, arrange, describe, and make available these materials in accordance with the Records Retention and Dispositions Schedule for Institutions of the University of North Carolina System.

The Academic Affairs Collection consists of administrative records pertaining to curricula, institutional research, and supporting academic services at the University of North Carolina Wilmington and its predecessor Wilmington College. A significant part of the collection is from institutional research, consisting of self-studies for accreditation and other reports prepared for planning or assessment.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Academic Department Records consist of administrative materials from academic departments of Wilmington College and the University of North Carolina Wilmington. Wilmington College began as a county-supported two-year college before becoming one of 16 constituent institutions in the University of North Carolina System of public higher education and a nationally recognized university. In 1979, the university created four colleges or schools as part of an administrative reorganization: the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Business Administration, the School of Education, and the School of Nursing. Records include planning reports, annual reports, correspondence, departmental self-study reports, and departmental meeting minutes.

The record group pertains to public service, extended education, and continuing studies at the University of North Carolina Wilmington beginning in 1970. This collection includes materials on business-related initiatives such as the Marine Trades Program, the Small Business Technology and Development Center, professional and executive continuing education programs, and more.

The University of North Carolina Wilmington Business Affairs Records consist of administrative records that document the growth, maintenance, operations, and financial administration of the university. The record group also contains information from Computer and Information Services, a department that originated as Academic Computing Services under Academic Affairs. Collection highlights are building dedication programs, financial reports, annual reports, newsletters, campus dining brochures, parking maps, public safety information, and long-range plans. The record group also has correspondence from Vice-Chancellors of Business Affairs and other administrators. Wilmington College moved to the campus on College Road in 1961, having previously used secondary school buildings in downtown Wilmington. In 1961, the school had just three buildings. Since joining the University of North Carolina System of public higher education in 1969, the school has greatly expanded campus facilities, adding numerous buildings to the main and Myrtle Grove campuses.

This collection contains the papers of Congressman Alton Lennon during his tenure as U.S. Representative for North Carolina's 7th congressional district from 1957-1972. Included in the collection is correspondence, reports, and other documents related to legislation, district affairs, and politics during the time. Also included are three large scrapbooks documenting news coverage from Congressman Lennon's career and campaigns.

This collection contains the papers of Rotary International District 7730 in southeastern North Carolina. These papers originate from and are mostly specific to John T. Capps III and his district involvement--especially his District Governorship from 1985-86--as well as his membership in the Morehead City-Noon, N.C. club from 1968 through the 2000s. Capps's father--John T. Capps, Jr., known by his middle name Talbot--served in Rotary International District 7730's Kinston club of North Carolina, and some of his papers from the 1950s-1970s are also found within the collection.

Congressman Mike McIntyre served as the Representative for North Carolina's 7th Congressional district from 1997 to 2015. McIntyre's Congressional collection consists of papers and memorabilia accrued during his time in office. Materials in this collection cover a wide range of subject areas pertinent to North Carolina’s 7th district and McIntyre’s interactions as a Congressman including but not limited to agriculture, coastal issues, economic development, health care, military and veterans’ affairs, senior citizens affairs and U.S. Presidents.

Contains 38 digital copies of "The Fledgling," UNCW's student yearbook, from 1950-1989.

Published annually, the catalogue has course descriptions and graduation requirements. It has historically included biographies of presidents and chancellors, building descriptions, calendars, campus traditions, maps, photographs, student fees, and tuition rates.

The Office of Institutional Research and Planning is the official source of statistics about the University of North Carolina Wilmington. This collection includes fact sheets, plans, and reports.

This is a digital collection of annual financial statements published by the UNCW Division of Business Affairs.

UNCW data, information, reports and metrics including Common Data Sets (CDS), the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS), and the Delaware Study of Instructional Costs and Productivity.