LibGuides: FST 379: African American Experience on Film: Finding Film Reviews

Finding Film Reviews

Many databases have filters or ways to limit searching by date, document type, etc. If you need film reviews from a certain time period, look for the date settings in the database and limit it to "reviews".

InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers thousands of newspapers from across the world. ProQuest Historical Newspapers database has full-text articles from a variety of U.S. newspapers including the New York Times from 1851-2011. Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive covers primary sources from the 1880 to 2000.

The Film Literature Index covers 1976-2001, and while it does not have full-text articles, this will help with finding citations for historic articles. Randall Library may carry them in print, or using Interlibrary Loan will be available for those resources not in the collection.

For a full list of newspaper databases available, check the Newspaper Resources page.

A website that has reviews and other useful resources is CineFiles.

Other Recommended Newspaper Databases

International Herald Tribune
This archive includes The New York Herald, European Edition followed by the New York Herald Tribune and finally the International Herald Tribune, retracing the history of the twentieth century from luxury travel and opulent entertainment, to international conflicts, the spread of American culture abroad and globalization. This American newspaper published in Paris had an independent editorial spirit throughout and offers focused objective reporting of international news.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Digital archive for the Los Angeles Times from 1881 - 1994. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.