Government Information Librarian
Elisabeth Garner
Contact:
UNCW Library
DH 2102-C
UNC-Wilmington
DH 2102-C
UNC-Wilmington
Subjects: Current Topics, Government Resources
On this Page
Congressional documents are comprised of reports, documents, hearings, etc. from both the House of Representatives and the Senate. Topics are wide and varied when it comes to Congressional documents, however, publications found on this page deal directly with either Civil Rights issues or the history of African Americans in the United States.
- Congress.govCongress.gov is a free resource made available to the public and "is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public." (congress.gov/about)
- Govinfo.govGovInfo is another free resource made available to the public and "is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government." (govinfo.gov/about)
- ProQuest CongressionalComprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present. Finding aid for congressional hearings (published and unpublished), committee prints, and committee reports and documents from 1824-1969. Includes access to U.S. Serial Set, a collection of primary source U.S. government publications compiled under directive of the Congress, Congressional Record, and Hearings Digital Collection. It contains comprehensive and often detailed information on an extremely wide range of subjects, including economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Also includes access to legislative histories, bills by number, committee hearings and testimony, members of congress directory, and social media. Find more detailed information.
400 Years of African-American History Commission Act (2016)
Black Americans in Congress 1870-2022
Black Americans in Congress, 1870-2022 by Call Number: Y 1.1/7:118-16ISBN: 9781735519340Publication Date: 2022-12-31"Provides a comprehensive history of the 175 African Americans who have served in the United States Congress. Written for a general audience, this book contains a profile of each African-American Member, including notables such as Hiram R. Revels, Joseph H. Rainey, Oscar De Priest, Adam Clayton Powell Jr., Shirley Chisholm, Augustus F. "Gus" Hawkins, and Barbara Jordan. Individual profiles are introduced by contextual essays that explain major events in congressional and U.S. history. Illustrated with many portraits, photographs, and charts"--Provided by publisher.
Establishment of a memorial to honor contributions of free persons and slaves during the American Revolution
History and enforcement of the Voting Rights Act of 1965
Status of the implementation of the Pigford v. Glickman settlement
- Status of the implementation of the Pigford v. Glickman settlementDiscusses "The Consent Decree that was developed to provide some monetary
restitution to black farmers who were victims of racial discrimination carried out by the United States Department of Agriculture..."