Humanities Librarian
Suggestions for Searching for Super 8mm Films
There are several ways to search for Super 8mm films and other specific types of films. You can use the "Find and Research" drop-down menu on the Randall Library homepage to select the "Find Videos and DVDs" page. See the various drop-down menus for additional help in limiting your searches. For instance, you can "Browse for Videos" and select the "Other film types" menu which has "Silent" as an option.
You can also do an Advanced Keyword Search in the Library Catalog and choose specific types of materials. You can use the "Material Type" box and select "Projected Med." to return items that are in this collection.
If you need further assistance with how to search for films, please use the "Contact Librarian" information in the far right-hand column of this Research Guide.
Search the Library Catalog
Search by:
Super 8mm Classic Film Collection
Below is an alphabetical list of the Randall Library's Super 8mm Classic Film Collection. You can also search for films in the Library Catalog. See suggestions for how to best search the catalog in the left-hand column. To access the films, please email or call the "Contact Librarian" in the right-hand column.
A
- The Adventurer
- Adventures of Dollie
- Aladdin and the Wonderful Lamp
- Alice on the Farm
- All Aboard
- Anne Boleyn
- Arsenal
- Astronomers Dream
- Awakening of Bianca
B
- Bad Buck of Santa Ynez
- Ballet Mechanique
- Balloonatic
- Bangville Police
- The Battle
- Barney Oldfield's Race for a Life
- Berlin, Symphony of a Great City
- Bezhin Meadow (unfinished, fragment)
- Birth of a Nation
- The Black Pirate
- The Blacksmith
- Broncho Billy and the Greaser
- A Busy Day
C
- Cabinet of Dr. Caligari
- The Champion
- Charge of the Light Brigade
- Un Chien Andalou
- Civilization
- A Clever Dummy
- College
- Conquest of the Pole
- A Corner in Wheat
- Corporal's Daughter
- The Covered Wagon
- The Crazy Ray
- The Cure
- Curse of Drink
- Custer's Last Fight
D
- The Danger Girl
- A Day's Pleasure
- Death of Christ
- The Dentist (sound)
- The Dentist (silent)
- The Desperate Scoundrel
- Destiny
- Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
- Don't Shove
E
- Early Days of Motoring
- Earth
- Easy Street
- Edison Primitives (contains 9 Edison Kinetoscope short films from the 1890's and early 1900's)
- Enchanted Studio (contains 9 short films by Pathé Frères from 1906-1913)
- End of St. Petersburg
- Enoch Arden
F
- Fall of the House of Usher
- Fall of the Nazis
- Felix in Fairyland
- Felix the Cat Dines and Pines
- Film Firsts (chapter 1)
- Film Firsts (chapter 2)
- Floor Walker
- Four Films by Emil Cohl (contains 5 short films, 1908-1912)
- Fun Factory
G
- Gaumont Graphics
- The General
- Gertie the Dinosaur
- The Girl and Her Trust
- The Gold Rush
- The Golem
- Great Moments from The Phantom of the Opera
- Great Train Robbery
- Groundless Suspicion
H
- Happy Days
- The Haunted Castle
- The Headless Horseman
- His New Job
- Humorous Phases of Funny Faces
- The Hunchback of Notre Dame
I
- The Immigrant
- In Old Madrid
- Intolerance
- The Iron Horse
- The Iron Mask
J
- The Joyless Street
- Judith of Bethulia
- Just Rambling Along
K
- Kid's Auto Race
- Kinograms 1920s
- The Knockout
- Kriemhilde's Revenge
L
- The Last Laugh
- Leaves from Satan's Book
- Life of Abraham Lincoln
- Life of an American Cowboy
- Life of Buffalo Bill
- The Lonedale Operator
- Lonely Villa
- The Lost World
- Lot in Sodom
M
- Mabel's Married Life
- Macabre Mini Shorts (contains 7 short films, 1898-1905)
- Magic of Melies (contains 3 short films, 1903-1904)
- Making a Living
- The Man Who Knew Too Much
- Man's Genesis
- Mark of Zorro
- Melies Tales of Terror (contains 3 short films, 1903-1904)
- Metropolis
- MGM Studio Tour (aka 1925 Studio Tour)
- The Mothering Heart
- The Music Box
- Musketeers of Pig Alley
- Mutual Weekly No. 109
N
- Nanook of the North
- The Narrow Trail
- Nero, or the Burning of Rome
- The New Janitor
- A New Way of Traveling
- A Night in the Show
- A Night Out
- The Non Stop Kid
- Nosferatu
O
- Oliver Twist
- One A.M.
- One Too Many
- One Week
P
- Passion of Jeanne d'Arc
- The Pawnshop
- Pay Day
- Piccolo
- The Plow That Broke the Plains
- Potemkin
- Pool Sharks
- Pranks of Buster Brown
- Princess Nicotine
- Puss in Boots (sound)
- Puss in Boots (silent)
R
- Regen
- The Rounders
S
- Sage Brush Tom
- St. Louis Blues
- Sally of the Sawdust
- The Sea Ghost
- Selig Tribune No. 21
- The Shock
- Siegfried
- Silent Serials
- Sinbad the Sailor
- A Slaves Love
- Son of the Sheik
- Sparrows
- Speed Kings
- Spies
- The Star Boarder
- Strike
- Student of Prague
- Sugar Daddies
- Sunnyside
- Sweet Memories
- Symphony of a City
T
- Tango Tangles
- These Girls Are Fools
- Those Awful Hats
- Tillie's Punctured Romance
- The Torture of Silence
- Tour Through the Ince Studios
- The Tramp
- A Trip to the Moon
- Troubles of a Grasswidower
- Tumbleweeds
- Turn of the Century
U
- Uncensored Movies
- The Unchanging Sea
- Uncle Tom's Uncle
V
- The Vagabond
- Variety
W
- A Woman
- Work