Annotated Bibliography

Search through reference collections from Sage Publications, Inc. Hundreds of SAGE Reference titles providing students with the perfect place to start their research on key topics in the social and behavioral sciences

Credo Reference is an online full-text library that covers all major subjects such as art, business geography, history, literature, music, psychology, social Sciences, and technology. It includes general reference resources such as dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to zoology. It offers easy keyword searching across the database of resources so you don’t need to know the title of a specific reference book to get started. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos.

UNCW subscribes to many EBSCO databases, including America: History & Life, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text, Historical Abstracts, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO and SPORTDiscus with Full Text. Several databases may be searched at once. Full text articles are offered in both HTML and PDF format on thousands of titles.

With the ATLA Historical Monographs Collection (11 Series), religion and theology scholars can focus their research on the era and topics that most closely fit their fields of study. Eleven thematic series provide researchers with specialized content spanning from the 13th century through 1922. The majority of content dates from the 19th and early 20th centuries, a time of great doctrinal, social and organizational turmoil and upheaval in American culture, making this collection a resource for scholars seeking to understand not only religious thought during this time period, but the general social, political and economic transformation of the country as well. Find more information.

Searchable collection of online reference titles.

Gale General OneFile provides access to an unprecedented number of general reference magazines and key serials in a single resource. This database is useful to users conducting general reference queries, business searches, and current event research. The addition of a browse-by-subject feature allows users to easily view content of interest on the most popular and most-searched topics within several distinct categories, including news and current events, health, and computers and technology.

NC LIVE is a consortial initiative allowing North Carolina libraries to serve as a gateway to a rich array of electronic resources, many of which are full-text, from the following vendor services: EBSCO, Gale, OCLC FirstSearch, and ProQuest.Includes a core group of reference and research materials online in the form of full-text electronic information and indexes. Note: if you are not affiliated with UNCW, you will need a password from your local library.

Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 460,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.