Social Sciences & History Librarian
Candidate Information and Election Guides
- Vote 411Find information about races and candidates by address.
- HeadCountLinks to nonpartisan voting guides.
- Campus Election Engagement Project (CEEP)Nonpartisan guides to candidates by state, with college students as the intended audience.
National Poll Results
- FiveThirtyEight PollingLatest polling, mostly for national races.
Statistical Information
- CQ Voting and Elections CollectionA database of elections data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical materials to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America from 1789-present.
- Sage DataProvides access to the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Through a single platform, users can search and browse 35 billion data points in over 4.9 billion datasets sourced from over 70 authoritative government and private sources, covering 16 subject areas. The platform's powerful functionality allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. Find more information.
Newspaper Articles and Ads
Randall Library subscribes to a number of newspapers that might have published stories about your candidate's campaign, in addition to advertisements that your campaign may have placed in the newspaper.
- America's NewspapersThe electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
- Infotrac NewsstandInfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- North Carolina News SourcesNorth Carolina News Sources is a collection of more than 190 media sources from across the state, including the Wilmington Star News, the Charlotte Observer, and the Raleigh News & Observer.
- USA Trade OnlineProvided by the U.S. Census Bureau, USA Trade Online is a dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. USA Trade Online can assist different types of customers from a wide range of industries and fields. Use USA Trade Online to identify new markets, evaluate existing markets, and perform other market research tasks.