LibGuides: Chemistry & Biochemistry: Literature and Resources

Recommended Databases

For research in chemistry and access to conference proceedings, book chapters, and peer reviewed journal articles, we recommend these databases.

Web of Science - Core Collection
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Find more detailed information.
American Chemical Society Publications
Search for citations and abstracts, of chemistry and biochemistry, through journals from the American Chemical Society.
PubMED
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Find more detailed information.
SciFinder-n
SciFinder-n is a new generation of SciFinder. It is the premiere reference tool for research in chemistry. SciFinder-n can be searched by research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and/or author's name. SciFinder-n provides an interface for searching six integrated bibliographic, substance, and reaction databases. In addition to chemistry and biochemistry, it includes coverage in the areas of agricultural sciences, biology and life sciences, engineering sciences, food sciences, geological sciences, material sciences, medical sciences, physics, and polymer science. Find more detailed information.
Registration required.

While it's not a database, ChemDraw is a valuable tool for chemists and chemistry students as well, which we have access to via Randall Library.

ChemDraw
ChemDraw Professional is a tool for chemists and biologists to create chemical drawings for use in ELNs, databases and publications and for querying chemical databases such as SciFinder. UNCW's site license agreement with ChemDraw allows access only to current students, faculty, and staff. You must download and install the Chemdraw software. Find more information.

Helpful Websites

These web resources provide specific information, rather than access to scientific literature.

Compound Interest
Compound Interest is a site that aims to take a closer look at the chemical compounds we come across on a day-to-day basis, explaining them with easy-to-understand graphics created by Andy Brunning, a UK chemistry educator.
JLab: Periodic Table of Elements
Provides access to basic physical and historical information about the elements including point, density, element history, and crustal and oceanic abundance.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Resource provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
Visual Elements Periodic Table
Available from the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Visual Elements Periodic Table provides interactive access to data on the elements; patterns in the periodic table; atomic orbitals; alchemical symbols; downloadable movies, screensavers and soundtracks; e-postcards; and wallcharts, jigsaws and CDs for purchase.

Open Access Repositories

The resources below are freely available databases that may include a variety of material: preprint (draft or preliminary) versions of articles, conference papers and/or posters, book chapters, white papers, and more. These repositories help speed up dissemination and enhance discoverability and access to early-stage scholarship across disciplines.

It is important to note that these materials have likely not been edited or benefited from the pivotal role of peer-review, which validates and improves the quality of final published journal articles.

Chemistry Research Network (ChemRN)
Open access repository run by Elsevier's Social Science Research Network (SSRN).
RCSB Protein Data Bank (PDB)
The Protein Data Bank (PDB) is an open access database of 3D structure information for large biological molecules, like proteins, DNA, and RNA.
Worldwide Protein Data Bank (wwPDB)
The Worldwide Protein Data Bank provides open access resources including data dictionaries for various small and large molecule types, structural validation and deposition, and a variety of other information about biological molecules collected by its member organizations.
RCSB PDB is a member organization of wwPDB.
Nucleic Acid Database (NDB)
The Nucleic Acid Database provides open resources related to the structures and sequences of DNA and RNA molecules.
EMDataResource
Open-access database for 3D Electron Microscopy structural data of molecules, particularly biologically relevant molecules like proteins, DNA, RNA.