Humanities Librarian
Get Started
In Randall Library, most of the literature for children are shelved by these categories:
- E : Easy (Picture) books: Arranged alphabetically by author's last name.
- Fic : Juvenile Fiction: Arranged alphabetically by author's last name.
- J : Non-fiction, including biographies: Arranged by Dewey Decimal Classification.
The 800 class in Dewey is for literature. The major type of literature you will find in our Dewey collection is poetry. American poetry has a call number beginning with 811. English poetry is in 821. Folk tales are in the 300 classification.
Children's Books are located on the first floor, and the Young Adult books are located on the second floor, shelved in the General Collection, primarily in the PZ range.
Please see below for more assistance on finding resources.
Recommended Databases
To find articles on specific subjects relating to children's and young adult literature, try searching one of the following databases.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive DatabaseCLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database) is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.1 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of children's books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources). Find more information.
- NoveList PlusA readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.
Recommended Books
Picture Books for Children by Call Number: Z1037.A1 .C565 1997
Recommended Journals
Recommended Websites
- Center for Children's Books, University of IllinoisResource for educators, librarians, and students that provides access to historically significant trade books for youth and over 1,000 professional and reference books on the history and criticism of youth literature.
- Children's Literature AssociationMembership organization that promotes high standards of criticism, scholarship, research, and teaching in children’s literature.