LibGuides: Clinical Research: Home

Research Databases

Journal articles are grouped together into various subscription packages by different vendors such as ProQuest and EbscoHost. It's possible that you may not find all the resources you need in one place. You can search multiple databases simultaneously by using the search widgets below. Or, you may choose to search by selecting individual databases by name such as CINAHL Plus with Full Text or Ovid Emcare. Using a search widget casts a broader net while using an individual database allows for a more controlled search.

Search Widgets

Individual Research Databases - - Links to the Databases are below these tabs.

CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association and includes nearly 1,500 active full text peer-reviewed journals. The database covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
In January 2024 Randall Library upgraded to CINAHL Ultimate from CINAHL Plus with Full Text.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL.

Pubmed

Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet for Quick Tours and the Video Tutorials for Database Searching Instruction.

Europe PMC
Europe PMC provides comprehensive access to life sciences literature from trusted sources. It's available to anyone, anywhere for free. With Europe PMC you can search and read 44.3 million publications, preprints and other documents enriched with links to supporting data, reviews, protocols, and other relevant resources.

Web of Science - Core Collection
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Find more detailed information.

Springer Nature Experiments
Randall Library annually assesses the cost and use of its licensed resources to ensure that funds are being used effectively and that curricular needs are being met. Faced with a campus budget reallocation in the fiscal year 2023, the Collections Committee and liaison librarians evaluated resources for cost, cost per use, and course need. Based on these criteria, this resource was determined to be cancelled.

If you would like to provide feedback about this resource and decision, please share it in the form below.

https://forms.office.com/r/0a83Pau0Zu

Sage Pharmacology, Toxicology, and Pathology Hub
Search or Browse in Sage Journals, Books, and Multimedia Pharmacology, Toxicology, and Pathology resources.

Ovid Medline
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 27 million references to journal articles. More than 5,200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including clinical medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers – biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Coverage is from 1946-present.

See Video Tutorials links below for database instructions.

The search interfaces for Ovid Medline and Ovid Emcare are essentially the same. I recorded this instructional tutorial using Ovid Medline. However, you can use the same strategies in this video to search in Ovid Emcare.

Wiley Online Library
A multidisciplinary collection of academic areas of study. UNCW has access to 1,700+ journals (coverage dates vary) and 21,000+ online books.

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. If you are off-campus, and do not see the Find article @ UNCW link, you can configure your Google settings. Find more information.

See Video Tutorial below for Help using Google and Google Scholar.

Using Google to Search for Articles in the Health Sciences

Oxford Journals
Collections cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, Social Work, Sociology, English, Creative Writing, Criminology, and Law, and include some of the most authoritative journals in their fields.

APA PsycINFO
This database is the American Psychological Association (APA)'s renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed. Find more information.

Evidence-Based Resources to Inform Healthcare Decision Making

UpToDate
Cochrane Library

UpToDate
UpToDate is a clinical decision support tool used by working professionals in clinical settings as well as researchers. Each article includes references with links back to the sources in the National Library of Medicine. UpToDate also includes patient handouts, comprehensive drug information, health related calculators, and Lexicomp Drug Interaction information. *** Please note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to UpToDate Anywhere, you must re-verify your affiliation with UNCW once every 90 days. Re-verifying can be done using either of the options listed below.

1.) Access UpToDate via this library Subject Guide at least once every 90 days. This will automatically re-verify your affiliation and you will not receive any re-verification messaging. This method requires no UpToDate log in.

2.) Log into UpToDate by going to www.uptodate.com from a computer connected to UNCW's network. This method requires you to log in to UpToDate.

See Video Tutorial link below for database instructions.

UpToDate Tutorial

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Databases included are Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED). Find more information.

See Video Tutorial link below for database instructions.

Cochrane Library Video Tutorial