Colonial and Revolutionary Southeast North Carolina

Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years. Find more information.

ArchiveGrid is a collection of over two million archival material descriptions, providing access to detailed archival collection descriptions, making information available about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials. It also provides contact information for the institutions where the collections are kept. Archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives are represented in ArchiveGrid.

The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) is the source for the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, giving digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. The historical periodicals collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals and provides rich content detailing American history and culture, including advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. It includes American Periodicals Series and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries. Find more information.

Over 40,000 poems by American poets from the Colonial Period to the early 20th century. The American Poetry database brings together, in a single database, the complete poetic works of more than 200 American writers from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century, along with "six landmark anthologies of American poetry." It contains more than 40,000 poems, including the works of major poets such as Emily Dickinson, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman and John Greenleaf Whittier. It also covers the works of many less familiar authors.

The Colonial State Papers offers access to over 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 40,000 bibliographic records with this incredible resource on Colonial History. In addition to Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals for power, this collection also covers the Caribbean and Atlantic world. It is an invaluable resource for scholars of early American history, British colonial history, Caribbean history, maritime history, Atlantic trade, plantations, and slavery.

The Digital Library offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about enslaved people, slaveholders, and free people of color.

Books, pamphlets and broadsides published in America from 1639 - 1800, based on the bibliography by Charles Evans.

Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.

Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. U.S. in Context is cross-searchable with World History in Context.

(EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Access includes Thomason Tracts and Early English Books Tract Supplement. early_english_books_online.

Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere.

Eighteenth Century Drama is a unique archive of almost every play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays. It includes primary sources covering the following themes: Censorship and politics; satire, political endorsement, and social commentary; celebrity culture and fashion; the rise and development of the opera in British theatre; the business and legalities of theatre; women in eighteenth century drama and society; key figures in theatre; staging, technology, and performance; representations of conflict, war, race, religion and historical events in drama; and representations of domestic, familial, and pastoral scenes in drama.

European Views of the Americas is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. Find more information.

Presents a varied and in-depth set of data for genealogists and historians. Includes data from all of the U.S. Censuses until 1940, an index of 6,500 local history and genealogy periodicals (PERSI), a database of Revolutionary War pension and bounty-land warrant, plus the full text of 25,000 local histories and family histories.

History Commons includes over 5 million pages of newspapers, archival materials, letters, diaries, photographs, and other critical historical documents. European collections contain content sourced from The National Archives (UK), available in digital format for the first time. North American collections, including Black and women's historical content from the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries, is sourced from Accessible Archives.

Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Our collections include Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle, Southern Life and Slavery, American Politics and Society, Workers and Labor Unions, American Indians and the American West, and Women’s Studies. Find more information.

This collection brings together 105,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, semantically Indexed and online for the first time. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

Provides digital facsimile images of primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the periods 1450-1850, 1851-1914, and 1890-1945 provides researchers access to material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more.

Full text of letters and diaries. The collection includes bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 7,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources. It is a massive, ongoing project to catalog and index Canadian and American women's diaries and correspondence through history and to digitize and index over 1,000 volumes of published and unpublished material to the highest standards. This project will enable historians, sociologists, students of literature, genealogical researchers, students, and general readers to experience these writings in a new way.

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.

Primary source materials for the study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. Our access includes the collections Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, The Institution of Slavery, and The Age of Emancipation. Includes newspaper collections, books and a broad selection of documents from several different archives. Find more detailed information.

Features Petitions concerning race and slavery, Southern Plantation records, and Civil War and Reconstruction Era records. Part of the History Vault database. Find more detailed information.