LibGuides: COM 338 : Campaign Design: Home

Campus Problem Assignment

You and your group will be required to select a campus problem to solve (i.e., parking, computer access, cost of textbooks, etc.) and apply the standard agenda to your problem solving process. That means that your group will need to identify a problem, analyze the problem, propose solution criteria, generate possible solutions, evaluate and select THE BEST solution, and address the feasibility of implementing the solution. Your ultimate goal should be to motivate your classmates to implement the solution that you propose. The group project necessitates the completion of two related assignments—project checkpoints and a group presentation.

Newspaper Resources

Seahawk Digital Newspaper Collection
"The student paper of UNCW, established 1948." The Seahawk is the student news organization and newspaper of the University of North Carolina Wilmington. It began as a four-page handout with stenciled headlines. In 1958, the Seahawk reemerged as a monthly publication after a five-year period without a student paper. For most of its run, the Seahawk informed students about campus, national and world news along with arts, entertainment, and sports once or twice a week. In 2001 the organization launched its online component: theseahawk.org.

US Newsstream
Provides access to recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes titles such as Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. Part of ProQuest Central. Find more detailed information.
Infotrac Newsstand
InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Recommended Databases

Below are links to resources that will aid in finding journals in communication.

Chronicle of Higher Education
Premier source for weekly news, research information, forums, and career information for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students.The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more. Find more information.
You must register with your UNCW email address
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. Find more information.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media meets the needs of researchers with journal articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.
CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. It is a source for research on current topics or major controversial issues of the day. It provides complete summaries, all the pros and cons, bibliographies, and more. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbitased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s important social issues. Featuring continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites, this database provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues.
Seahawk DOCKS
Seahawk DOCKS is UNCW's portion of a shared database called North Carolina Digital Online Collection of Knowledge and Scholarship (NC DOCKS). Designed by UNC Greensboro and shared with UNCG, East Carolina University, Appalachian State University, and UNC Pembroke, NC DOCKS is designed to hold digital, online copies of faculty articles, white papers, and other scholarly works, in addition to student theses and dissertations. This type of database is often referred to as an "Institutional Repository," or IR.
Westlaw Campus Research
A comprehensive database of legal materials including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials. Includes articles from legal journals, detailed company and financial data, as well as state, national, and international journals and newspapers

COM 338 : Campaign Design

COMMUNICATION STUDIES LIBRARIAN

Need Help?

Campus Problem Assignment

Components of a Research paper

Newspaper Resources

Recommended Databases