Empire and Environment: an Eco-History of the Modern World

Open-access digital library for materials related to biodiversity literature.

Electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early 19th century and the middle to late 20th century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science.

An annotated guide to environmental history resources online, maintained by an environmental historian.

Resources on American environmental history maintained by the National Humanities Center.

A step-by-step guide to researching history, with specific examples in environmental history. Maintained by William Cronon, the author of Nature's Metropolis.

Resource provides information on and documents from the formation of the conservation movement. Accessible information includes those gathered through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress.

Collection of 4,500 photographs documenting natural environments, ecologies, and plant communities in the United States 1891-1936. Provided by the University of Chicago.

The Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL) provides free public access to a wide range of significant resources on water in the Western United States.

Resource makes available the text of the celebrated Nebraska edition of the Lewis and Clark journals, edited by Gary E. Moulton. Features the full text, almost five thousand pages, of the journals. Also included are a gallery of images, important supplemental texts, and audio files of selected passages plus Native American perspectives.

Provides access to historic photographs, personal papers, and research library of Gerald "Jerry" Williams, former national historian for the U.S. Forest Service.

Databases that provide useful, detailed information about primary or secondary materials that aid research in the broad fields of forest, conservation, and environmental history. Some materials are online. The Forest History Society is located in Durham.