LibGuides: Evidence Synthesis: Searching for Material

Consult the Experts

Use of Recommended Search Strategies in Systematic Reviews and the Impact of Librarian Involvement: A Cross-Sectional Survey of Recent Authors (Koffel, 2015) https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0125931
Ensuring quality as the basis of evidence synthesis: leveraging information specialists' knowledge, skills, and expertise (Metzendorf & Featherstone, 2018) https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.ED000125

Databases and Search Strategies

Librarians can assist you with selecting databases and search strategies for your synthesis project based on your research question. Each database is different and will require a different search syntax. Some databases have controlled vocabulary and thesauri that you will want to incorporate into your searches. We recommend creating one master search strategy and then translating it for each database.

Find Databases at UNCW Library
Explore all available library databases by name, type, and/or subject.
Subject Guides
Created by UNCW Librarians, Subject Guides are curated lists of databases, journals, and other key resources for each discipline.
UNCW Library Video Tutorials
Learn more about how to develop a search strategy, use advanced search techniques, and explore specific databases through these video and self-directed tutorials.
Searching Preprint Repositories
Created by evidence synthesis librarians, this guide offers strategies for searching and using preprint repositories like arXiv and OSF Preprints.

Accessing Full Text

Researchers should contact their liaison librarian for assistance in obtaining the full-text of articles before submitting requests to Interlibrary Loan. Articles and other items obtained through the library's databases are licensed for the exclusive use of UNCW students, staff, and faculty, while material obtained through Interlibrary Loan is licensed for the exclusive use of the individual requesting the item.

Finding the Full Text of Articles
Learn how to find the full-text of articles and other material with this brief video tutorial.
Interlibrary Loan
Service through UNCW Library that helps users borrow items from other libraries if they are not available at UNCW.

Documenting Searches

It is important to document your search when conducting a review for transparency and reproducibility. Consider creating personal accounts in individual databases so that you can save your search history.

Save and document the following:

Exact search strategies used in every database, search engine, or other resource
The date you ran each search
Any limiters or filters used
The number of results exported (we recommend a citation management software)
The number of results remaining after deduplication

PRISMA for Searching
An extension to the PRISMA 2020 checklist, the PRISMA-S checklist offers guidance for reporting the literature searches completed as part of systematic reviews.