LibGuides: Geosciences, Geology, and Geography: Recommended Databases: Recommended Resources

Recommended Databases

GeoRef
The geology of North America is covered from 1669 to the present, and global coverage dates back to 1933. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing in the GeoRef database as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses and dissertations. Find more information.
Web of Science - Core Collection
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Find more detailed information.
Scopus
Scopus is a source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts who are recognized leaders in their fields. Scopus puts powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, research managers and funders to promote ideas, people and institutions. It indexes content from 7,000+ publishers and includes 91+ million records, 94,000+ affiliation profiles and 17+ million authors.
In Spring 2024 UNCW Library received one-time funding for two resources, Scopus and IEEE Electronic Library, to support UNCW’s increased focus on research as part of its designation as an R2 university. Funding is guaranteed for only one year, so feedback from the campus community is critical. In addition to this feedback, Library staff will review usage and cost metrics for these resources over the next year in an effort to demonstrate a long-term need for these subscriptions. You can access the feedback form here: https://forms.office.com/r/M18cq3gaFY
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore is the flagship digital platform for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore contains more than 6 million documents and other materials from some of the world's most cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and related sciences.
In Spring 2024 UNCW Library received one-time funding for two resources, Scopus and IEEE Electronic Library, to support UNCW’s increased focus on research as part of its designation as an R2 university. Funding is guaranteed for only one year, so feedback from the campus community is critical. In addition to this feedback, Library staff will review usage and cost metrics for these resources over the next year in an effort to demonstrate a long-term need for these subscriptions. You can access the feedback form here: https://forms.office.com/r/M18cq3gaFY
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.
ASFA - Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Premier database for literature on the marine science, technology & management of marine, freshwater, & brackish water environments & organisms. Find more information.
Oceanic Abstracts
Focuses exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment, and has long been recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to oceans.
ScienceDirect
Offers access to most of the Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism. Find more detailed information.

Helpful Websites

Web Time Machine
Available from the University of California Museum of Paleontology, the Web Time Machine allows users to learn about stratigraphy, ancient life, fossil localities, and tectonics from 4.5 billion years ago to the present.

Quick Search for Geography and Geology Books

Use the search box below to look for books, videos, journals, and other items held in Randall Library's collections. Note that this search can't be used to find journal articles--for that you'll need to either use a database or go to the library's main search at https://library.uncw.edu/.