Humanities Librarian
Get Started: Suggested Resources
You can find more resources in the tabs menu, but below is a short list of some of the top go-to resources for this course.
Recommended Article Databases
- JSTORArchive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. Find more information.
- Music IndexFeaturing digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
Recommended Streaming & Audio Subscriptions
- Naxos Music LibraryNaxos Music Library (NML) is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month. Find more information.
- Classical Music LibraryClassical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. Find more information.
Recommended Books
Acoustic Guitars and Other Fretted Instruments by Call Number: ML1015.G9 G76 1993
Mastering the Guitar - Technique Studies by Call Number: MT582 .B394 1996
Recommended eBooks
Recommended Videos, DVDs & Music
So easy acoustic guitar. Level 1 by Call Number: MT580 .S632 2005
The genius of Joe Pass by Call Number: M1366.P377 G48 2001
Recommended Websites
- Jazz Discography Online (TJD Online)The Jazz Discography is the most up-to-date general discography of all categories of recorded jazz, from 1896 to today. (Allows two users access at a time)
- Guitar Foundation of AmericaWorld’s largest multi-national guitar organization. Resource provides access to an archive of scores, books, and manuscripts.
Search for Books
Use the search box below to look for books, videos, journals, and other items held in Randall Library's collections. Note that this search can't be used to find journal articles--for that you'll need to either use a database or go to the library's main search at https://library.uncw.edu/.
In the online catalog, the SUBJECT searches below will yield books and music concerning the guitar (this is not a complete list):