LibGuides: Healthful Living and Fitness Education: Scholarly Articles

Welcome!

Welcome to the Healthful Living and Fitness Education Research Guide! Within this guide, you will find information and links to health and fitness related resources that you may find useful for your classwork and research. Click the tabs on the left side of this page to explore different resources and materials.

Recommended Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly material and other reliable literature with the perspective of health, fitness, sports medicine, and related fields.

Sports Medicine & Education Index
Provides abstracts to physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation therapy, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered. Find more detailed information.
Allows 4 users access at a time. Please try again later if you cannot access this resource.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
International citations on exercise, physiology, physical education and health, parks and recreation, recreation therapy, sports and sports medicine. Allows 4 users access at a time. Please try again later if you cannot access this resource.
Allows 4 users access at a time. Please try again later if you cannot access this resource.
ERIC (via ProQuest)
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Find more information.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Virtually every discipline is represented, ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.Academic Search Ultimate also includes more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press. This collection of videos is updated monthly and includes footage from 1930 to the present.

Health and Fitness Journals

These journals are key resources for scholarly and peer-reviewed material in the fields of fitness, health, and physical education. Skip the databases and browse or search the journals directly using the links below.

Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
JOPERD is a peer-reviewed, authoritative, professional source for educators in physical education, sport, recreation, and dance in all settings. Features articles about teaching methods, curriculum, teacher preparation, professional issues, coaching, youth sports, fitness, recreation, and dance.
Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport
Publishes scientific research focusing on human movement as it relates to exercise and sport.

Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise
An official journal of the American College of Sports Medicine, this journal includes original investigations, clinical studies, and comprehensive reviews on current topics in sports medicine and exercise science.
International Journal of Sports Physiology and Performance
The International Journal of Sports Physiology and Performance (IJSPP) focuses on sport physiology and performance and is dedicated to advancing the knowledge of sport and exercise physiologists, sport-performance researchers, and other sport scientists. The journal publishes authoritative peer-reviewed research in sport physiology and related disciplines, with an emphasis on work having direct practical applications in enhancing sport performance in sport physiology and related disciplines.

Note: Library access ends 1 year prior to today's date. Request more recently published material through Interlibrary Loan.

Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research
The editorial mission of The Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research (JSCR) is to advance the knowledge about strength and conditioning through research. A unique aspect of this journal is that it includes recommendations for the practical use of research findings.

Anatomy and Physiology Tools

Check out the library tools below to explore anatomical structures, common pathologies, physiological processes, 3D models and animations, and more.

Visible Body Muscle Premium
Allows users to learn about muscles, their attachments, and their actions. Includes 3D versions of 20+ common pathologies, including sciatica, rotator cuff tear, shin splints, and more.
Visible Body: Physiology and Pathology
Physiology & Pathology covers 48 physiology topics and 57 conditions, with 50 lessons, more than 5,800 3D models, 38 animations, 16 illustrations, and 26 quizzes. Find more detailed information.
Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas
Includes over 5,000 interactive, medically accurate male and female anatomical structures— developed by medically trained medical illustrators and vetted by leading anatomists—covering systemic anatomy, regional anatomy, senses, muscle action, and 25 cross-sections.
Visible Body Physiology Animations
A comprehensive collection of nearly 70 high quality videos that illustrate and animate the core physiological processes of the human body.

Healthful Living and Fitness Education

Health and Human Services Librarian

Need Help?

Related Guides

Welcome!

Recommended Databases

Health and Fitness Journals

Other Helpful Article Databases

Anatomy and Physiology Tools