The encyclopedia will provoke a refreshing, and unprecedented opportunity to explore China and Chinese perspectives without bias, political agendas, or excessively narrow focus on a single industry or issue. This encyclopedia is meant for any person - student, teacher, businessperson, government official, tourist - who seeks an understanding of China, in the past, present, and future. We expect that the typical user will be someone who wants to find information about a specific topic but also wants to easily and quickly learn more.
The Encyclopedia of Modern China is designed for academic and professional users -- from advanced high school students and undergraduates to professors, journalists, and business people -- as well as public library patrons. The encyclopedia showcases the work of an international body of prominent scholars, who offer accessible, original, and authoritative analysis of all aspects of the history and culture of China since 1800. In more than 2, 000 pages of alphabetical entries, each ranging from 500 to 5, 000 words, Encyclopedia of Modern China provides critical information on the most populous country and most dynamic trade market in the world: the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of this ancient and enduring civilization is explored from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the present day. Given Chinas increasing role in world affairs, its modern history and culture are of great interest to many, and this work is designed to bring reliable and accessible facts and analysis to students, professionals, and others who study and interact with China and her people. Commissioned contributors from colleges and universities in China and around the world provide authoritative content and fresh scholarly analysis Scores of tables, charts, graphs, and maps illustrate key points A glossary appendix listing transliteration of unique names, t
Charts Western influence and national development. Beginning with the mid-19th century, when China encountered the West and began to enter the modern age, this encyclopedia offers an overview of the world's largest and most populous nation. The coverage includes not only major political topics, but also surveys the arts, business, literature, education, journalism, and all other major aspects of the nation's social, cultural, and economic life. The encyclopedia also offers significant material on such often neglected subjects as women and minorities, modern drama, Sino-French War, the federalist movement, overseas Chinese, Mongolian independence, and more. Special emphasis throughout is on the dramatic changes that have taken place in the country since the end of World War II. Provides an overview of the modern era. The entries are written by China specialists, who are thoroughly familiar with every aspect of the nation and its peoples. While history predominates, the articles cover all academic fields and include considerable material on recent decades as well as on earlier periods. There are entries on national political leaders and key thinkers, major events and trends in the nation's history, institutions, organizations, and currents of thought that led to the emergence of the modern nation. The encyclopedia's longer essays offer detailed and insightful surveys of censorship, important eras, literary movements, powerful social groups, anti-imperialism campaigns, Five Year Plans, the Sino-Vietnamese War, economic breakthroughs, and other vital topics. The coverage is informed by a thorough exploration of the historical role of Chinese nationalism, a potent force that was shaped by the need to retain national unity and independence under foreign assault.
Since 1784, when the American ship Empress of China arrived in Guangzhou, Chinese-American relations have experienced advances and setbacks. The past century saw America's rise to a world superpower, and in recent decades, China has increasingly asserted itself around the globe. As the Chinese economy rapidly expands, China assumes a more dominant position in world politics, and continued fruitful relations with the United States will be a primary concern for both nations in the twenty-first century. This encyclopedia contains more than 400 descriptive entries of important events, issues, personalities, controversies, treaties, agreements, organizations and alliances in the history of Sino-American relations. The work examines people and events from Chinese and American perspectives. Enhancing the entries are maps, a chronology, list of acronyms, and three appendices, offering lists of American chiefs on missions to China, Chinese chiefs on missions to the United States, and the correspondence of Wade-Giles to Pinyin.