Hollywood East: Film in Southeast North Carolina

This collection contains audio-visual materials from the DeVries-Bullock company. Formats include beta, 16mm and 35mm film, as well as other rare formats. Videos contain both raw and completed footage of local interest segments, advertisements and public service annoucements in Wilmington during the 1970s and 1980s. Additionally, there are several notebooks in the collection that provide detailed descriptions of the footage in the collection.

This collection contains papers related to Lou Buttino's writing career. These feature his magazine articles, newspaper columns, proposals, and manuscripts, as well as media copies of his video and film work.

The M.W. Godwin Linda Darnell Collection was assembled by Minot West Godwin, a passionate fan and collector, and consists of two major parts. The first relates to Godwin and his research, correspondence, and some non-Darnell materials. The majority of the collection consists of material relating to Linda Darnell, including personal papers, content related to the production and exhibition of her films, clippings, and ephemera. These include but are not limited to over 4,000 photos (studio, press photos, and film stills), scripts, foreign and domestic magazines and clippings, and foreign and domestic exhibition materials (theater programs, posters, lobby cards, and exhibitor and showmanship guides, etc.). These materials document a vast amount of Darnell's career in film and also include materials related to her radio, television, and stage work.

This collection contains still images of Hollywood stars from 1930 - 1960 with many one of a kind images in addition to various reprints and cutouts from books and magazines. There are approximately 9,300 glossy black and white (with some color) 8x10 inch images and 266 glossy color 4x6 images of popular stars. This collection also contains an estimated 40,000 images of both sorted and unsorted movie stars from books and magazines.

This collection contains material related to the film industry, primarily in Wilmington, North Carolina. Included in this collection are scripts for feature films, television movies and television shows, as well as associated production documents, press release kits, posters, 35mm film trailers and emphemera. The scripts are arranged by filming location and noted as local (Wilmington and surrounding areas) or non-local (all other locations).

This collection contains materials from the private Wilmington, North Carolina company, AnimEigo. The AnimEigo Anime Collection includes Japanese animated cels, VHS covers for anime films, and anime film laserdiscs.

This collection consists of production files related to the Frank Capra, Jr. production of FIRESTARTER (1984), which was filmed locally in Wilmington. The collection has been arranged into three series:
Series one covers pre-production through post production and documents the numerous business dealings, agreements, and various documents utilized through production, including but not limited to photographs, scripts, inter-office memos, correspondence, clippings, financial records and cast and crew employee files. Of particular note are the various documented production issues ranging from theft, vandalism, and natural disaster. This series comprises the bulk of the material in the collection.

The Craig Rogers Film Script Collection includes motion picture and television scripts and production documents dating 1993-2006. The collection also includes a 2000 Wilmington Film Commission Production Guide and a copy of the novel, Virus. Rogers was the assistant location manager for several of the films and television shows in the collection, many of which were filmed locally in Southeastern North Carolina.

This collection consists of press kits owned by Terry Theodore, professor in the Theatre department at the University of North Carolina Wilmington. Kits include printed and digital promotional material for approximately 200 films.

The Shaw Collection contains draft and finished scripts and sketches of television shows and films, written or co-written, by Frank Shaw, memos, and correspondence.

This collection contains original handbills and posters promoting surf film screenings in the greater Wilmington area, as well as sales flyers for a local surfboard shop called America Surfboards.

Karen Swenson's book projects focused on Greta Garbo, Barbra Streisand, Deanna Durbin, Liza Minelli, Judy Garland, Marilyn Monroe, Stevie Nicks, and US Gymnasts. Her research material spans items such as personal correspondence, fan mail, newspaper and magazine articles, photographs, audio visual material, related books and essays, and manuscript drafts.

This collection contains Surf movie mini-window cards, a film program, and a interview print-out of local surfer Bruce Clelland. The collection consists of items relating to early 1960s independent surf films. A period film program and an interview from one of the film's surfers, Bruce Clelland, are preserved here.
It should be noted that Big Wednesday (1961) is not Big Wednesday (1978, Warner Bros.). Both are surf films, but the latter is more well known.

This collection includes scripts, storyboards, and visual effects breakdowns for films from the career of camera operator and cinematographer Joe D'Alessandro. Many of the scripts are drafts, and some include production schedules at the end of the script. Projects span a wide range of genre, and also range from low-budget independent films to high-production blockbusters. Some notable scripts included in the collection are drafts of The Hudsucker Proxy, My Best Friend's Wedding, The Patriot, and The Blindside.

The Special Collections vertical files are compiled by Special Collections staff on an ongoing basis and contain material such as articles, photocopied documents, maps, emphemera, etc. of various persons, places, organizations, and topical subjects related to UNCW and Southeastern North Carolina history.